Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Stuffed Pork Chops July 3,2012

on July 3, 2012

I had a piece of pork loin roast in the refrigerator that I needed to use up. I was thinking about slicing it open, stuffing it and roasting it whole. However, I was feeling lazy today so instead I cut it into thick (2″) chops and stuffed them individually.

I came up with the stuffing idea last night while I was mulling it over in my head. In my opinion, any good stuffing starts with a base of onions and celery so that part was easy. I’ve been craving sun-dried tomatoes lately so I decided to toss in some. Next I needed something to add a bit of moisture. Heavy cream! This is one of my favorite ingredients to use in anything, savory or sweet. Finally, a bit of something to act as a binder. I used shredded Parmesan cheese. Many cooks would use bread crumbs instead but Jene and I are trying to eat low-carb. The cheese worked beautifully to pull the ingredients into a cohesive unit and added some nice flavor as well.

Recipe

6 2″ thick pork loin chops, sliced open on one side but not cut through completely

4 stalks celery, finely chopped

1 medium onion, finely chopped

1 1/2 cups julienne cut, oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes. cut into smaller pieces, do NOT drain off all the oil

1/2  cup heavy cream

1 to 1 1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese

2 tablespoons Peppadew Mustard (or other flavored mustard, such as Dijon)

Seasoning

Preheat oven to 350F.

In a skillet over medium heat combine celery, onion and sun dried tomatoes. Cook until the onions and celery are tender and translucent. Stir in heavy cream and let simmer for a minute to absorb into the veggies. Remove from heat and allow to cool slightly. Stir in Parmesan cheese.

Season the outside of the pork chops before stuffing. (I learned this the hard way by stuffing then seasoning lol. If you stuff first it falls out will you turn the chops to get them seasoned. I used Penzeys Spices English Prime Rib Rub on the outside. This blend has celery salt, onion, garlic and pepper. Basic salt and pepper or another seasoning blend would be fine too.)

Take about 1 teaspoon of mustard per chop and smear it into the opening cut in the side of the meat. This allows the flavor to soak into both the meat and the stuffing. Mustard and pork is a favorite combination of mine.

Stuff the chops and place them in a baking dish.

Place the chops in the oven and bake for 30-45 minutes or until an internal temp of 145F. I can’t tell you exactly how long I cooked them because I wasn’t paying very close attention. (Blush.)

Here’s a picture of the finished product. 🙂

One response to “Stuffed Pork Chops July 3,2012

  1. Gorgeous! Making this week!

Leave a Reply

