Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

How to build a salad

on July 8, 2012

Making a salad is easy. Making a salad that won’t leave you hungry two hours later takes a bit more work. I’m not really cooking anything today so I thought I’d post about a great way to use up that left over tri tip I smoked yesterday.

First, get a nice big bowl. This salad is a meal and should be large enough to hold all the stuff I like to put in it. The bowls I use are usually considered serving bowls but they work great for a salad.

Now you can start prepping the ingredients. I like to use cucumbers, sweet bell peppers, cherry tomatoes, cheese, hard boiled egg, some type (or two) of meat, croutons, and baby greens. Basically, cut everything up into small bite sized pieces.

Once everything is prepped it’s time to start building. Jene and I take two different approaches. I like to start with my greens on the bottom and build up from there. Jene puts all the chopped up bits on the bottom and the greens on top. However you like to do it, you basically put everything in the bowl. Top with dressing there you have it, dinner!

Some notes on dressings. I will admit that I use a lot of bottled dressing. It’s fast, it’s easy and I don’t have to lift a finger other than opening the bottle. I do make my own dressing sometimes but I’ll save that post for another day when I’ve run out of things to write about. đŸ™‚Â  In the meantime, when shopping for a dressing, try for something that is relatively low in sugar. A salad gets a lot less healthy if it’s smothered in a sugary dressing lol.

Now this wouldn’t be much of a post if I didn’t explain why I make my salad this way and why I’m not hungry two hours later. The biggest key is the protein. Protein is what powers our bodies and helps us feel full. By adding at least two types of protein it gives your body something to do once the greens are mush inside your stomach. So the key is to make sure you have enough proteins in your salad. I love to add hard boiled eggs but Jene doesn’t like them. (Which is the nice thing about this salad, you make them separately for each person.) However, the cheese and meat(s) provide more protein so it’s not a big deal if you don’t like one or another type of protein. If you’re a vegetarian, you can toss in some tofu, a couple handfuls of beans, or some seeds and nuts. Again, the big thing here is to make sure you’re adding protein to your salad.

Finally, here are a few ideas for some things to put in your salad that you might not think about.

Asparagus

Fresh herbs (fresh dill is my favorite, Jene likes cilantro)

Shredded Brussels Sprouts

Cold noodles

Edamame (soy beans)

Steak (I know this seems sort of obvious but if you didn’t eat that whole piece of ribeye at dinner, the leftover piece makes a great salad)

Sprouts (There are a lot of good sprouts out there that are more interesting than alfalfa or bean sprouts. My personal favorites are broccoli, radish and onion sprouts. I hope to post in the future about adventures in growing my own sprouts.)

So I know this hasn’t been an “OMG that’s an amazing dish!” sort of post. Some days you just can’t cook something amazing but there’s no reason not to make something good. Even super easy food can be good and tasty.

 

Leave a Reply

