Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

I hate hot weather

on July 11, 2012

First off, this post will probably not talk about food. It’s freakin hot outside and even with the AC unit running I feel like my brain is melting out of my ears. I usually do not cook when it’s this hot. For that matter, I really don’t eat lol.

So what am I going to talk (babble) about? Oh, this and that. Random stuff from my life for the last few days.

First, is that the MS is kicking my butt. It’s been hot for the last two days and I feel pretty wretched. Heat makes MS symptoms much worse. So right now I’m having pins and needles in my left leg and food and very severe muscle spasms in the left side of my torso and up into my shoulder. Not being able to use both arms makes cooking a challenge so I’m going to take the day off. Besides, there’s leftovers 😉

The cats however seem to be enjoying the AC. They’re sleeping in front of the unit with the cold air blowing on them. Cats are funny critters. Our cats have a rule. We call it the “One Cat Rule.” Only one cat may be petted or snuggled at a time. So last night Sasha was snuggled up next to me and Hugh came wandering over. He looked at Sasha and left. Mew stopped in, looked at Sasha and left. Whatever works for them I guess but I really can pet more than one cat at a time.

I would really like to be doing some baking right now but it’s too bloody hot to run the oven. I was going to do laundry and don’t even want to run the dryer. I got my new King Arthur Flour catalog in the mail yesterday and it has this recipe:

Honeycomb Buns  

These brioche-style buns, with their drizzle of honey glaze, are over-the-top decadent. Serve them warm at breakfast, or with afternoon tea.

Buns

  • 3 cups King Arthur Unbleached All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons instant yeast
  • 1/2 cup warm milk
  • 1/4 cup (4 tablespoons) unsalted butter, melted
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Glaze

  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup honey

Directions

1) To make the buns: Combine the flour, salt, honey, and yeast.
2) Mix in the milk, melted butter, eggs, and vanilla. Knead to make a smooth, elastic dough.
3) Place the dough in a lightly greased bowl, cover, and let rest for 60 minutes.
4) Grease a honeycomb cake pan or mini-muffin pan.
5) Gently deflate the dough, and divide it into 19 equal pieces (20 pieces if you’re using a mini muffin pan).
6) Pat each piece of dough into the separate cups of the pan. Allow the buns to rest, covered, until just about doubled in bulk, about 45 minutes.
7) Towards the end of the resting time, preheat the oven to 350°F.
8) Bake the buns for 20 to 22 minutes, until they’re a light golden brown. Remove them from the oven. After 5 minutes, turn them out onto a plate.
9) To make the glaze: Combine the butter and honey, and microwave for 45 seconds to melt the butter.
10) Brush the glaze over the hot buns, and let them rest for 5 minutes to allow them to absorb the glaze.
Yield: 19 or 20 buns.

I adore baking with honey. It gives things a much mellower sweetness. I try to get my honey from local bee keepers if at all possible. There is nothing as pretty as seeing a jar of honey that still has the sparkle of pollen in it. So I really, really want to make these buns. Sadly, it is too hot and I’m not turning on the stupid oven. Well, not unless I’m still awake at midnight when it’s cooler!

I guess I lied about this post not discussing food  lol. At least you know what I’ll be doing in the middle of the night if I can’t sleep.

 

One response to “I hate hot weather

  1. karenworth says:

    My brain just melted to here in TEXAS! :0)

Leave a Reply

