Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Another day of not cooking… sort of

on July 14, 2012

We had a party to attend this afternoon and I took two pans of brownies. That was my cooking/baking for the day. The brownies were a big hit but they always are. I keep hoping that someone else will be brave enough to try making them so I’m not the only person who can lol. I did get told that I should post my low-carb lasagna so I will be doing that sometime soon. Tomorrow I’ll be making Chicken Tikka Masala which is one of my favorite dishes. I’ll post about it and share the recipe. 🙂

And since I’m not cooking, I’ll talk about something related to cooking. The difference between Pancetta and Bacon.

Bacon vs Pancetta

I like to do a lot of Italian cooking. One of the ingredients commonly used is Pancetta. Now, unless you’re a huge fan of the Food Network (I’m guilty!) you might not know what pancetta is. It’s essentially an Italian version of bacon.

The biggest difference is that bacon is smoked after curing and pancetta is not. Pancetta is also seasoned with herbs and spices before curing while bacon is usually only flavored with things such as brown sugar, honey or maple syrup. This link is to a blog post from my friend Cat who makes her own bacon. http://accidentalalchemist.com/blog/2012/07/02/the-bacon-diversion-or-belay-those-ollalieberries/

Cat’s blog is a lot of fun to read so it’s well worth taking the side trip.

This is what pancetta looks like. Unlike bacon which is left as a slab, pancetta in the U.S. is usually seen rolled and sliced thin. Some markets now have it available cut into small cubes which is a blessing for those of us who want to use it for something besides sandwiches lol.  Another difference between pancetta and bacon is that pancetta doesn’t need to be cooked to be eaten. You can buy it sliced in packages and just nibble on it as is.

Next time you’re looking for something to add a little extra kick to your food, give pancetta a try. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

