Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Kitchen Alchemy: The making of a dry rub

on July 15, 2012

I was going to make Chicken Tikka Masala today. However, I was feeling yucky last night and didn’t get the chicken in the marinade. Then I spent the afternoon doing yard work at Gma’s. So I stopped on the way home and picked up a couple of tri-tips and am making a new rub for one. I think I’m going to call it Jene’s Inferno rub. Jene likes things HOT. Not jalapeno hot but think Habanero hot… or even hotter. A few months ago we were in a spice store on Fisherman’s wharf and found powdered Habanero. We also found Ghost Pepper (even hotter than a habanero) infused sea salt. I decided that today I WILL create a rub that makes even Jene sweat.

Recipe

3 T sea salt or kosher salt (You want bigger crystals than table salt. It helps score the meat when you rub it on and the flavors soak in better.)

2 T ground black pepper

1 T crushed VERY hot red pepper flakes

1 T onion powder

1 T garlic powder

2 t soy sauce powder

2 t habanero powder

2 t cayenne pepper

3 t cinnamon

1 t ground ginger

Combine everything into a bowl. This will make enough for several uses. Place into an air tight container and store in a cool, dark place.

CAUTION!!!

You MUST wear protective clothing when working with powdered chili peppers! The powder is very very fine and WILL get up your nose and in your eyes. I measured without this protective breathing apparatus (ok, so it’s a bandana) and the back of my sinuses were burning in no time.

You also NEED to wear gloves. It’s fine when you’re not touching the spices but you will need them for rubbing in into the meat. Jene and I always have a box of rubber gloves (food service type) in the kitchen for this sort of thing. Do not let this rub touch anything other than the container it’s in and the food you are putting it on. I can’t even taste it to say whether or not it tastes good. I’m going purely on instinct.

Since I can’t eat this rub I’m smoking two tri-tips. When working with a hot rub make sure that the not hot food doesn’t touch. So when I place these in the smoker I will make sure that the mild one is on a top rack and the hot one on a bottom rack. This way no spicy juices will ruin my mild roast lol.

I’ll be smoking the tri-tips for 1 1/2-2 hours at about 200F.

And this is what it should look like at the end 😀

Edit: Jene is hiccuping (his reaction to spicy food), his nose is running and his eyes are watering. He says it’s good lol. He did mention that it could use bit less salt and more cinnamon and ginger. Those two spices were included to help add some sweetness to the heat. Also, I forgot to cut back on the salt when using the soy sauce powder.

Edit 2: When you  later come back to wash the dishes, make sure you’re wearing gloves. The burn on the hands isn’t as bad as when everything was fresh but it’s still there!!

One response to “Kitchen Alchemy: The making of a dry rub

  1. Tane Marie McKee, DVM says:

    SO: My pink to purple headed and now masked friend….{. Very Sexy. You remind me of me when I used to detassle corn}…….Tantalize me with CTM, my favorite Eastern Indian dish. I am eagerly awaiting that post………..LOVE YA!!!!! XXXXXXXXXXXoooooooooOOOOOOOOOOOOOxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

