Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Making a Hash of it

on July 17, 2012

Hash seems to be one of those foods that you either love or hate. (Yes, I’m talking about FOOD not drugs… get your mind out of the gutter, this is a family blog!) Growing up “Hash” meant finely cubed corned beef with finely cubed onions, potatoes, and carrots fried up in a skillet. I hated it. Sometimes my mom would make it with leftover roast beef.. I still hated it.

Fast forward from picky(ish) childhood to today and I actually enjoy eating hash. The other day I smoked a couple of tri-tips. I’ve got about 2/3 of a roast left (the mild one lol) and need to use it up for something. I also happen to have some gray squash in the fridge that needs using up. And suddenly at 5am when my cats are keeping me awake, I have the idea to make hash with squash and left over tri-tip.

You might be wondering why I’m using squash.. Well, Jene and I (ok, mostly Jene) are eating low carb. So that means we don’t keep potatoes or carrots in the house. Squash is firm enough to keep it’s shape like a potato and will cook quickly. It pairs well with almost any meat and just tastes good in general.

Recipe

5-6 cups finely diced summer squash such as yellow, gray or zucchini

1 large onion finely diced

4-5 cups finely diced cooked beef (I’m using tri-tip but you can use rib roast, chuck roast, top round, etc)

3 large celery ribs very finely diced

2 T bacon fat (you can use oil or butter if you think you can’t do the bacon fat but I think you’re a noob)

As you dice the ingredients you can just toss them all together into a large bowl. Melt the bacon fat in a large skillet/saute pan. I’m using a 12″ saute pan tonight and it’s actually a little over full (I’m stirring VERY carefully.) So either scale back or get a bigger pan lol.

Once the fat is hot dump everything in. Cook over medium heat and stir it every so often as the veggies cook down and the beef warms up. If your beef is heavily seasoned you probably won’t have to do much more than add some pepper or maybe some fresh herbs. I’m going to throw in some lemon thyme leaves and that’s probably about it. I could add some garlic but I’m not feeling it today.

The squash is going to release a lot of water. I just took a spoon and skimmed it out of the pan. You can cook it off by turning the heat up to high but be extremely careful not to burn the hash.

When the squash, onions, and celery are soft and the beef is hot, take it off the heat and serve. If you want, fry up an egg or two and put that on the hash.

One response to “Making a Hash of it

  1. Tane Marie McKee, DVM says:

    This I will try. Can someone enlighten me on what a noob is? I feel out of the loop. Red Flannel Hash—- Best at Full House Cafe in the Laurel District in Oakland. Best Denver in the whole world as well. I have not been disappointed ever. I do not mean to digress from EKWS blog…… BTW Kris, the blue of your web page is awesome. I feel like I am high in the sky or snorkeling either in Kauii or the Great Barrier Reef. I can proudly say I have bee to both places……

Leave a Reply

