Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Greek-Style Chicken

on July 21, 2012

Last night Jene and I were watching Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives. We hate that show because it always makes us hungry. Yet I love that show because I get some great food ideas.

There was a diner in Philadelphia (I think) called The Dining Car. They did a greek-style baked half chicken that sounded fantastic. I have unabashedly stolen the recipe for dinner tonight.

Recipe

3 chicken leg/thigh quarter pieces

4 bone in chicken breasts

Shallot salt (available from Penzeys Spices. The restaurant used onion salt.)

Garlic powder

ground pepper (the restaurant uses white pepper, I used a blend of white and black.)

dried oregano

dried marjoram (my own addition. marjoram adds an extra depth to the oregano. they’re related but distinct herbs)

olive oil

lemon juice

Preheat oven to 350F.

Place the chicken, skin side up in a roasting pan or on a rimmed baking sheet. (I didn’t have a big enough roasting pan so I used a baking sheet. I’ll have to watch to make sure the juices aren’t bubbling over as it bakes.)

I cut three lemons in half and squeezed the juice over the chicken. I tossed the squeezed halves into the pan around the chicken pieces.

Sprinkle with the seasonings. I don’t have measurements but it’s really kind of to your particular taste.

Drizzle with a little bit of olive oil. This just adds a little extra flavor and helps the skin brown up. It’s only a little bit. Don’t drown the chicken, it’s dead already 😉

Place the pan in the oven and bake for about 1.5 hours.

While at the farmer’s market this morning I also found some beautiful purple and orange cauliflowers. So as the side for tonight’s chicken I’m roasting the cauliflower. I posted the recipe earlier in this blog but you can find it again here. I just could not resist the beautiful colors. 🙂 One of the biggest benefits of roasting the cauliflower is that the deep colors don’t fade. They come out just as bright as when they went in the oven

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The finished product was fabulous!

One response to “Greek-Style Chicken

  1. Tane Marie McKee, DVM says:

    Rainbow Diet…………………. I love it…………………………….

Leave a Reply

