Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Low-Carb Lasagna

on July 22, 2012

When my husband and I went on Atkin’s last year I had to start coming up with meals that were filling and tasty yet didn’t involve pasta, bread, potatoes and other high carb foods. I was seriously missing lasagna!

After thinking about it for awhile I had the idea to use slices of zucchini in place of the pasta. It’s filling, it tastes like lasagna, it has the texture of lasagna, and it doesn’t have any pasta in it! I will mention that like any good home made lasagna, this takes awhile to assemble.

The reason I love lasagna so much is because it allows you to build layers of flavor that create a whole that is more than the sum of its parts. The mushrooms are cooked and create their own flavor. The ground beef is a layer of flavor, the sauce adds more depth and the cheese mixture is even more flavor. I also like how versatile a lasagna can be. You can use white sauce, red sauce, beef, veal, lamb, or pork. Give me some time and I can come up with half a dozen completely different lasagna recipes 😀

As an experiment today I dried drying out the zucchini in the food dehydrator (yes, I have every kitchen gadget known to man, except a potato ricer for some reason.) This was not a success. I think I over dried the zucchini. It wasn’t well balanced by the amount of cheese and sauce. So for the time being, I will continue roasting the zucchini in the oven and just deal with it being a little watery. (Jene says it’s just fine and he loves it lol. Maybe I’ll play more in the future.)

Recipe

2 lbs ground beef
1 onion- chopped
3-4 cloves garlic, minced
2 jars favorite spaghetti sauce
2 lbs slices mushrooms (I’ve used chanterelle and crimini mushrooms when I can get them. Today it was baby portabello mushrooms.)
Large zucchini, peeled and sliced lengthwise, about 1/4 inch thick. (A mandolin is a huge help)
32 oz ricotta cheese
32 oz cottage cheese
Roughly 2 lbs of shredded mozzarella cheese
1/2 cup julienned sun dried tomatoes
favorite italian seasoning

Preheat oven to 500F. In a large pot brown the beef, onions and garlic. Add the spaghetti sauce and simmer over low while you cook the mushrooms.

In a large skillet melt about 3 TB of butter, add the sliced mushrooms and sautee until the water releases and cooks off. This can take up to 30 minutes and should be done over medium low heat to avoid scorching. Add the mushrooms to the sauce. (This is a chance to add another layer of flavor. I added some freeze dried shallots and a splash of white wine to the mushrooms as they cooked.)

While making the sauce, place the zucchini slices on a foil lined baking sheet that has been sprayed with PAM. (If you have a wire rack that fits your pan, this will help too.) Roast in the oven until the water starts to release and the bottoms of the slices start to brown. You’ll have to do this in batches which is why you use the foil. That way you can peel it off and have a fresh surface for the next batch. I can’t say exactly how many zucchini I used, about six that were 3-4 inches in diameter and 12 inches long. When I was slicing them I discarded the first and last cuts because they were too narrow. When the zucchini is done, reduce the oven to 350F.

Once you have the sauce and the zucchini done, mix together the ricotta, cottage cheese and sun-dried tomatoes in a bowl. I added a bit of my favorite garlic seasoning but you can do just salt and pepper. You can also toss in a couple of handfuls of the mozzarella.

Finally, assemble the lasagna by putting a layer of sauce in the bottom of the pan then a layer of zucchini, a layer of cheese mixture, a layer of sauce.. repeat until you run out of sauce. The last layer on top of the zucchini should be the last of the sauce and a whole bunch of shredded mozzarella. You can also use the cheese mixture under the shredded cheese if you have some left over.

Bake at 350 for about 45-60 minutes or until the top of the cheese is melty and brown and the edges are bubbly.

The lasagna can be made a day ahead and stored in the refrigerator, just remember that the baking time will be much longer because it’s cold all the way through.

Leave a Reply

