Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Restaurant Review: Spin A Yarn (Fremont, CA)

on July 25, 2012

There are days when you are just too freakin tired to cook… This was one of those days. I was sitting on the couch, utterly exhausted when Jene looked at me and said the magic words “You wanna go out to eat?” If I’d had the energy I’d have danced around the house singing “YES!” However, I just said “Yes please.”

In search of something new  I used the Open Table app on my iPhone. I’d heard of Spin A Yarn before and I could get reservations on short notice. So we decided to give it a try. It was worth it!

My day was insane. I started a new job last week and have had trouble keeping my VPN connected this week. I’ve spent hours on the phone with the tech guys and Jene even bought a new (expensive) router. The new router arrived this morning. Stupid VPN was still dropping. I MUST have that stupid thing connected because it’s how I access the company’s files. I even went to Best Buy and bought yet ANOTHER router, different brand, different everything, still no good. On the phone with the tech guy, we finally changed on more setting in the VPN PROGAM and had nothing to do with the bloody router!!! I finally seem to have a stable connection and was able to work for a couple of hours at the end of the day.

That story out of the way, I started the meal with a shot of tequila lol. Once I could feel my shoulders relax  we ordered. We started out with the steak carpaccio. Jene ordered the prime rib with mashed potatoes and swiss chard. I ordered the lamb chops with mashed potatoes and mac & cheese.

For those not familiar with it, carpaccio is raw beef that is sliced and pounded paper thin. It is served on a chilled plate with capers, mustard, a drizzle of balsamic vinegar, some arugula, and shaves of parmesan cheese.

Before being afraid because the beef is raw, it is SO thin you really can’t tell it’s not cooked. The flavor blends with the tartness of the capers, vinegar, and mustard so nicely. I highly recommend you step outside your comfort zone and try it if you ever get the chance.

Jene’s prime rib was beautiful. They roll out the prime rib and cut it table side. It was a beautiful, pink medium-rare. It was good, not House of Prime Rib amazing, but good for not having to drive into the City lol. His swiss chard was really good too and I’m not a fan. 🙂

Finally, I ordered the lamb chops. Holy cow, er sheep! Those were the BEST lamb chops I have ever had in my whole life. Lamb always has this slightly gamey taste to it that you either love or hate. Or so I thought! Tonight’s lamb did NOT have that gamey taste. Even Jene, the professed lamb hater enjoyed it.

I forgot the take the picture before I started eating lol. The chops were amazing. Perfectly medium-rare, tender, and not the least bit gamey. The mashed potatoes were ok. Nothing amazing but the roasted garlic on the plate made it easy to jazz them up. The mac & cheese was again, not amazing but not horrible. Kinda meh.

However, dessert (which I ate too fast to take a picture) was coconut cream pie. I have to say first.. I absolutely, positively, completely and totally disgusted by cream pies. I do NOT eat cream pie… until tonight anyway. I thought, what the heck (or maybe it was the shot of tequila) and split a slice with Jene. It was unbelievably good! The reason I don’t normally like cream pie is because the pie is more like pudding shoved in a pie crust. In this case, the “cream” portion of the pie was more like a tender cheesecake. On top of this was a slightly lemon flavored meringue. All covered with wonderful toasted coconut.

Now that I’m fed, bathed, and somewhat rejuvenated, I’m going to bed!

2 responses to “Restaurant Review: Spin A Yarn (Fremont, CA)

  1. Cindy Monroe says:

    I guess Gordon Ramsey helped… They were on Kitchen Nightmares.

  2. Tane Marie McKee, DVM says:

    Ya………….I saw that episode too. I used to work at the vet hospital right across the street. I did go to that establishment several times and was always quite pleased……. I remember some cherry dessert they had. Uber yummie…………………….. I rather think kitchen nightmares sensationalized things a bit.

Leave a Reply

