Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Taking a Dump… Cake!

on July 28, 2012

Anyone who’s ever been associated with the Girl Scouts probably knows what a “Dump Cake” is. Everyone else is probably confused lol.

A Dump Cake is a wonderful way to make a quick, easy, sickeningly sweet dessert. I love to take them to parties because it’s usually a total surprise and actually surprisingly good for something that only took about 5 minutes to put together.

The name “dump cake” comes from the fact that you dump the ingredients in the pan and bake it. No stirring, no mixing and no work! You can make this in just about any flavor you can imagine. So here’s the basic idea behind a dump cake.

Recipe

1 Box Cake Mix (any flavor you want. Today I used French Vanilla)

2 Cans pie filling (flavor is up to you. I used Strawberry.)

12 oz soda (use whatever works best with your cake mix. today i used 7-up) OR 1 stick butter

9×13 cake pan

Preheat the oven to 350F. Spray the pan with non-stick cooking spray. Pour the cans of pie filling into the pan and kinda spread it around evenly. Pour the DRY cake mix over the pie filling, gently spreading it evenly. DO NOT MIX it into the pie filling! Next, gently pour the soda over the top of the cake mix. It’ll fizz up and look kind of funky. This is NORMAL. You can very gently use a fork to sort of mix the soda into the cake mix but be careful not to mix in the pie filling. The other option for this part is to slice very thin pieces of butter and put them all over the top of the cake mix instead of using the soda. I actually like to use both, I just use less butter (about a half a stick today).

Bake for about 30 minutes until the top is starting to brown and the cake mix has a cobbler like look to it. It might appear dry and crumbly in places… This is NORMAL!

Take it out, let it cool and eat it.

So some other variations that have been very popular are yellow cake mix with 1 can cherry pie filling and 1 can of crushed pineapple (undrained), Chocolate cake mix with cherry pie filling, and french vanilla with blackberry. I have plans to give spice cake and apple a try at some point in the future.

Today’s strawberry was sort of a random thing. I was at Raley’s (a grocery store) and saw the strawberry pie filling. It sort of grabbed me and so I bought it lol. Today’s birthday party gives me a good excuse to make it. 😀 I was actually surprised at how good it tasted when I opened the can. I’m excited to try the cake when it’s done.

I’ll add another picture later to show you what it looks like served 🙂

;

20120728-200749.jpg

2 responses to “Taking a Dump… Cake!

  1. Tane Marie McKee, DVM says:

    Believe it or not…..I have not heard of this cake. My choice would be Cherry…..I think I will try this one……..

  2. […] back when I started this blog, I just used couscous instead of quinoa. I’ve also covered the dump cake previously too. So the only other thing I served was some Nob Hill brand artichoke dip which is […]

Leave a Reply

