Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Pork Loin

on July 30, 2012

Behold the Pile O’Pork!

 

We made a trip to Costco this past weekend. Needless to say, there’s no such thing as “small” quantities when you shop there. Jene had been wanting some thick-cut smoked pork loin chops. We bought an entire pork loin lol. So this picture is a stack of 1″ thick chops and 2″ thick chops that have been stuffed with mozzarella cheese, cottage cheese, fresh basil, garlic and sun dried tomatoes. Not picture is about 7 thin sliced chops as well. All of that porky goodness is currently in the smoker getting all tasty.

Something that I should talk about is the difference between a wet smoke and a dry smoke. A wet smoke has a water/liquid source in the smoker to create steam and help keep the meat extra moist. A dry smoke is just what it says, it’s dry, no steam or moisture added. My smoker does a wet smoke. I have a large bowl that I fill with liquid, usually beer or wine. However, I can also use water. Tonight we’re out of beer and wine that I’m willing to use in the smoker (instead of drinking it lol). So to add a bit of extra pop, we added some onions, garlic, lemon and lime to the water bowl. There’s no need to clean or peel anything, just chop it all up and toss it in the bowl. These ingredients simmer in the water lending their subtle flavors to the steam rising through the smoker.

I wish I could share the joy of using the smoker with you. I’m sitting on my couch with the AC running yet I get hints of wood smoke coming in anyway. I can look out the patio door and see the smoke billowing out of the smoker. It’s not a quick cooking process (probably 1 1/2-2 hours for these chops) but it is a satisfying process. There’s something almost primal about this method of cooking that speaks to the soul.

And here’s a picture of the finished, smoked, stuffed chops.

Leave a Reply

