Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Tomato Salad

on August 11, 2012

This recipe comes from my mom. I really can’t remember where she got it and I’m too lazy to call and ask. However, it is my absolute favorite summer salad recipe. I only make it during the summer when I can get true home-grown (preferably heirloom) tomatoes. This salad highlights the best flavors of summer’s bounty.

Recipe

4 cups, chopped fresh tomatoes

1 cup diced cucumber

1 cup diced celery

1/2 cup diced green/yellow/red sweet bell pepper

1/4 cup diced onion

1/2 cup oil

1/3 cup vinegar

1 TB sugar or honey (I prefer honey)

1 tsp salt

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp dry mustard

1/4 tsp ground black pepper

Mix the veggies in a large plastic or glass bowl. (Don’t use metal because it can react to the tomatoes and vinegar.) In a small bowl combine the vinegar, honey, and spices. Stir to combine and let sit for a couple of minutes to dissolve. Whisk in the oil and stir briskly. Pour over the salad and stir to combine. Serve chilled. As the salad level goes down, add more veggies to refresh. The vinegar based dressing works to semi-pickle the veggies and it keeps well for up to two weeks. It never lasts that long though lol.

I usually don’t take a distance picture of my food but I wanted to give you an idea of how big the bowl we filled was 😀 I’m extremely proud to say that ever bit of tomato and cucumber in that bowl was grown in my own garden. Jene has lovingly tended it for me this summer while my ankle was healing. There are four different types of tomato and two types of cucumber, all heirloom varieties.

This second picture is a close up where you can see the beautiful colors of the veggies.

This is a super easy to make salad but again, I only make it during the summer. I look forward to it all winter and dream of it as I plant my tomatoes each spring. Take the time to make it and try it. It’s worth the time spent chopping the ingredients.

One response to “Tomato Salad

  1. Tane says:

    I have had this by Kris. Very good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

