Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Fried Duck Confit

on August 14, 2012

My apologies, I meant to post this last night. A friend came over before I finished it and distracted me lol. Then when she left I went straight to bed.

Yay!! I finally fried up the duck confit and served it with the mushroom gravy! Of course the beauty of confit is that it keeps a long time so it didn’t matter that it took me a week to actually cook it the way I wanted. In addition to the confit I sauteed some asparagus, yellow squash and onions. I seasoned the veggies with some fresh dill, garlic powder, lemon juice salt and pepper.

Mushroom Gravy

1-2 quarts stock (I used homemade duck stock but beef or chicken would be fine)

1-3 TB cornstarch mixed with an equal amount of water to make slurry

1-2 lbs mixed mushrooms, sliced (I used oyster and cremini. In the past I’ve used chanterelle, shitaake or just plain white)

Bring the stock to a simmer.Mix the cornstarch into the stock and let simmer over medium low heat.

Meanwhile in a large skillet, melt 2 TB of butter, add 2 TB of minced shallots (I used my freeze dried again) and a splash of white wine (roughly a 1/4 cup). Add the mushrooms and sautee over medium heat until they start to brown.

When the mushrooms are browned, stir them into the gravy you made with the stock. Check for seasoning. Since I used home made stock I only needed to add a bit of extra salt and pepper. If you use store bought stock you may want to add extra herbs such as thyme or oregano.

Serve over meat, mashed potatoes and/or veggies.

Sauteed Veggies

2 TB butter

1 small onion chopped

2 squash diced

1 lb asparagus spears cut into 1″ lengths

1-2 TB fresh dill chopped

1 clove garlic minced OR 1/2 tsp garlic powder

juice of 1/2 lemon

salt and pepper to taste

In a deep sided skillet melt the butter, add the veggies, dill and garlic. Saute over medium heat until the veggies start to get tender. Sprinkle the lemon juice over and stir in. When the veggies are just tender but not mushy, remove from heat and serve.

To fry the duck confit, remove the duck from the container of fat in the refrigerator. Scrape off most of the fat and put the duck in a skillet that’s been heated to medium. Do not add any extra fat, there is plenty on the duck which will melt as you fry the duck. When the duck is brown and crispy on both sides, remove from heat and serve.

And here is a beautiful picture from dinner. 🙂

Leave a Reply

