Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Chinese Hamburger

on August 21, 2012

This casserole is pure mid-western dining lol. It was one my mom made a lot when I was growing up. I haven’t made it in a long time because we try to eat low-carb. So I don’t have any pictures for you this time. However, it’s easy to make and good for feeding a crowd.

Recipe

1 lb ground beef

1 onion – chopped

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 can cream of celery soup

1 1/2 cups water

3/4 cup rice

2 T soy sauce

1 package chow mien noodles

Preheat oven to 350F.

In a skillet brown the beef and onions. Mix in the soups, soy sauce, rice and water. Put ingredients in a 9×13 baking dish. Cover tightly with foil and bake for 30 minutes.

After 30 minutes, remove the foil, sprinkle the chow mien noodles across the top and bake for an additional 30 minutes. Check the rice to make sure it’s done. If not, bake for 10 additional minutes, being careful not to burn the noodles on top.

Serve

I’ll be the first to admit that I frequently tweak recipes to try and improve them. This is one that I’ve never messed with. Maybe it’s the childhood memories or maybe it’s just that good lol. Give it a try and let me know if you make changes, I’d be very interested to hear what you do with it!

2 responses to “Chinese Hamburger

  1. Mel says:

    Well, leave a section with out the noodles for me to eat and that would be the only change I make LOL

Leave a Reply

