Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Almost Home-made chicken noodle soup

on August 23, 2012

So of all the stupid ways to get sick, I have an ear infection. As far as I know it’s the first one I’ve ever had too.  So in “celebration” of being sick, I thought I’d share my favorite imitation scratch made chicken noodle soup. I make this when I’m too sick to really make it from scratch or too lazy 😉

Recipe

1 rotisserie chicken – deboned

4 quarts chicken broth or stock (I like the stuff in the soft sided cartons)

8 oz dried fettuccine noodles (I use the herby flavored ones)

1 large onion – chopped

4 large celery ribs – chopped

4 large carrots – peeled and chopped

herb seasoning (I use Penzeys Bavarian blend)

salt & pepper to taste

Bring  the chicken broth/stock to a boil in a large pot. Add the chicken meat, onions, carrots, celery, herbs, salt and pepper. Let simmer for about ten minutes or until the celery and carrots are just starting to soften up. Add the noodles and cook for another 8 minutes or until the pasta is al dente.

That’s it! Put some in a bowl and feed it to yourself and anyone else around you who’s ailing.

I apologize for not having any pictures again tonight but I didn’t actually make soup. I bought soup at Panera today lol. I love their cream of chicken and wild rice soup. 😀

Leave a Reply

