Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Caramel Popcorn

on August 26, 2012

With school coming back into session, I thought this recipe would be fun to share. This is a fun one to make with the kids and makes for a great addition to movie night.

I don’t even remember where this recipe came from but I got it when I was around 12 or so. We used to make big batches at Christmas time to include in gift baskets with the cookies my dad would bake.

Recipe

3/4 cup popcorn – popped

1 cup brown sugar
1 stick butter
1/4 cup corn syrup
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda

Put popped corn in a large brown paper sack. (Paper grocery bags are perfect for this.)
Mix brown sugar, butter, corn syrup and salt in a two quart dish. Bring to a boil in the microwave on high. (About 1 1/2 minutes, maybe less if microwave is high wattage.) Cook 2 minutes more on high. Remove, stir in baking soda. Pour over popcorn. Close bag and shake well. Cook 1 1/2 minutes, shake well.
Cook 1 1/2 minutes, shake well.
Pour into a large bowl and stir while the caramel is cooling to prevent large clumps.

Now, I just tried to make this for the first time in probably 20 years… let me say that microwaves are MUCH more powerful now lol. I am currently enjoying the smell of burnt sugar permeating the house. My microwave is 1300 watts and I would guess that the one my parents had when I was a child was probably 800 watts. So.. this being said, only microwave it for 1 minute at a time. In the picture you can see there’s some dark spots where I burnt the sugar. The golden color is what it’s supposed to look like. 🙂  And while it might not have turned out the way I wanted it to, the memories of childhood it brought back were more golden than the caramel.

Leave a Reply

