Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Baked Chicken Breasts with Garlic and Onion

on August 28, 2012

First, let me apologize for not posting last night. I was so tired by the time I got home from physical therapy that I pretty much crawled into bed. That being said, I did manage to cook dinner tonight, albeit a simple dinner.

My friend Ellisha was trying to figure out what to fix for dinner on Saturday night. She had some chicken breasts and was bemoaning the fact that her daughter didn’t like the chicken. I told her to bring the chicken over to my house and I’d cook up something they’d both enjoy. Thus the birth of this recipe.

Recipe

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts

1/4 cup onion, sliced very thinly into rings

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 TB butter

1/4 cup white wine

salt to taste

Penzeys Mural of Flavor to taste

Preheat the oven to 350F. Spray a baking dish with non-stick cooking spray. Rinse and dry the chicken then place in the baking dish. Split the onion slices, the garlic and the butter between the four breasts. Splash about 1T of white wine over each breast then sprinkle with salt and Mural of Flavor. Bake for about 30 minutes or until an instant read thermometer shows 150-160 degrees F. Experts vary between saying a safe temperature is 160 or 170. I take my chicken out at 150 and let it rest to come up to 160-165.

By removing the chicken when it’s still at 150 the meat stays much more moist. Just remember to let the chicken rest to finish cooking.

So to explain the reasoning behind these flavors… Onions and garlic go with almost anything. It’s a simple way to kick up the flavor of any type of meat. The butter helps add some moisture and fat back into the chicken breasts which are painfully lean. (Yes, I know that’s why people eat them but it’s so BORING without fat.) The white wine also helps add a bit of extra moisture and flavor. It’s just a splash so if you don’t like wine, leave it out. Finally, the Mural of Flavor is one of my favorite all purpose seasoning blends.  I basically tried thinking about what I would want my chicken breasts to taste like if I was a 12 year old girl lol. This was what I came up with.

Leave a Reply

