Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Food Truck Mafia (Fremont, CA)

on August 30, 2012

I grew up with food trucks being called “roach coaches” and NOT in a loving way. Until tonight I had never eaten food from a food truck. Jene always told me that it was safe but I wasn’t sure I believed him lol. However, The Food Truck Mafia sets up about two blocks from us on Thursday night at Washington High School. After watching a couple of episodes of The Great Food Truck Race on Food Network I decided it might fun (and safe) to try food truck fare. So Jene and I met in the parking lot and tried fare from two trucks.

Yumsilog:

This truck does Filipino food and the sisig is GOOD! Probably some of my favorite sisig so far. However, we ordered lumpia and got home only to discover that while we had paid for it, it was not included in our order. So we weren’t able to sample it. 😦 In addition to the sisig I tried the Bangsilog which is fried milk fish. The flavor was good but the fish was WAY over cooked making it very dry and tough. Our meals came with garlic fried rice (a little bland) and a fried egg. I honestly enjoy the heck outta the sisig but the rest of it left me going “eh.” The sisig is definitely worth going back for more. I don’t have a picture because we inhaled it lol.

That’s Sweet Dessert Truck:

Oh my! This is spectacular. I ordered two cupcakes, the Vanilla Salted Caramel and the Snickerdoodle. The Maple Bacon looked tempting but I stopped at two.

The Salted Caramel was amazing. A vanilla cupcake filled with hand crafted caramel, topped with buttercream icing, more caramel and a sprinkle of sea salt, yum! The cake itself was a touch heavy. Not dry but a little dense. However, I don’t mind that in a cake. 🙂 The caramel was sooo good. I love hand crafted caramel. The only thing that could maybe be an improvement is if it was honey caramel which has a more complex flavor. The icing… eh, it’s buttercream. I honestly would prefer my cupcake without any icing given the choice.  The caramel drizzle and salt made it worth eating. On the snickerdoodle cupcake, I just scraped the frosting off and fed it to Jene lol. The snickerdoodle cupcake was like eating a super moist cinnamon coffee cake. It had a beautiful cinnamon swirl through out the body of the cake and a nice crispy cinnamon/sugar crust under the frosting. I will definitely go back again!

The picture above is the two cupcakes, salted caramel on the left and snickerdoodle on the right.

Here on the left is the Vanilla Salted Caramel cupcake. You can see how the caramel is oozing out of the cupcake. The big dent in the icing is from Jene sampling it lol. The picture on the right is the Snickerdoodle cupcake. You can see the beautiful cinnamon swirled through out. I loved these cupcakes. Possibly even more than I do Sprinkles cupcakes. I will definitely be visiting this truck again. I will probably try the Maple Bacon next time too 😀

One response to “Food Truck Mafia (Fremont, CA)

  1. Tane Marie McKee, DVM says:

    I HEARD FOOD TRUCK ROW IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

