Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Smoked Brisket and Spinach Pie

on September 3, 2012

Since today is a holiday and I don’t have to work, I thought I’d put myself to work lol.One of Jene’s friends whom he hasn’t seen in several years is coming by with his family. Two children which should be interesting given my cats aversion to children lol.  So obviously children have huge appetites (that’s my excuse and I’m sticking with it!) and require lots of food. So I decided to cook a good sized meal.

I stopped yesterday and picked up a whole brisket and put it in the smoker. The whole thing weighed about 16 pounds. I made up a dry rub of brown sugar, salt, pepper, paprika, mustard powder, garlic powder, onion powder and ground celery seed. As usual, I forgot to measure so I can’t tell you exactly how much I used of each spice but I think it was pretty even parts for the paprika, mustard, garlic, onion, and celery. Heavier on the salt and pepper. Since I was doing a 16lb piece of meat I started with roughly 2 cups of brown sugar. Which, came out perfect. We rubbed in about half of it last night, let it sit in the fridge and then rubbed the rest in this morning before putting it in the smoker. We did that about 5am. I hate waking up before the sun, even if it serves a good cause lol. Fortunately I had no trouble getting back to sleep.

We’re serving up the brisket with the Greek couscous salad, artichoke dip (no, I didn’t make it, I bought it), spinach pie and strawberry dump cake.

The spinach pie is from an email I got and I tried it for the first time today. Here’s the basic recipe

Basic Spinach Pie
Categories: Vegetable, Cheese, Appetizer, Side dish
Yield: 1 pie

2 1/2 lb Fresh spinach rinsed & chopped
1/2 lb Feta cheese crumbled
1 ea 8 oz container cottage cheese
1/3 c Onion chopped
1 ea Chicken boullion cube crushed
2 ts Fresh dill chopped
1/2 ts Ground black pepper
1/2 ts Garlic powder
Salt to taste
2 c bread crumbs
4 tb Butter melted

Pre-heat oven to 350 deg-F.
Lightly grease one 9″x13″ casserole dish.
Combine spinach, feta cheese, cottage cheese, onion, garlic powder, poultry seasoning, dill, salt & pepper.
Mix well then pour into casserole dish.
Mix breadcrumbs & butter.
Sprinkle over spinach mixture then bake for 30 mins.
Remove then allow to cool for 8-12 mins. prior to serving.

ORIGIN: Candice Ferris, New Port Richey-FL, circa 2010

I added extra dill and think it could have still used more. Maybe next time I’ll use dried since the flavor is more concentrated. I also added a bit of lemon juice and used 4 cloves of minced fresh garlic instead of powder. The last thing I did differently was I blanched the spinach rather than chopping it. 2.5 pounds of spinach is a LOT of volume. I don’t have a bowl large enough to mix it all together with the other ingredients. So I shoved it, a pound at a time in a pot of boiling water for about 60 seconds, just long enough to wilt it. Then I drained it really well and mixed it with the other ingredients. It was good but needs something. Jene and I aren’t sure quite what flavor it’s missing but it needs  a little something extra… maybe parmesan cheese. It’s definitely good enough that I’ll make it again and play with the recipe some more.

The couscous salad is basically the same as the quinoa recipe I posted back when I started this blog, I just used couscous instead of quinoa. I’ve also covered the dump cake previously too. So the only other thing I served was some Nob Hill brand artichoke dip which is really quite good.

This is 11 hours worth of low and slow. We used Jack Daniels wood chips. These are chips made from the barrels they age bourbon in. Makes for an awesome flavor on the meat.

 

Leave a Reply

