Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Puto (Filipino Steamed Cake)

on September 5, 2012

This is one of my all time favorite Filipino desserts. It’s made with rice flour and coconut milk then steamed instead of baked. LOVE this dessert! I got this recipe from cooks.com. It’s a super easy recipe. I’ve made this one about three times now and need to experiment with some other variations. If you click on the “Recipe” it’ll take you to the original website.

Recipe

1 c. rice flour
1 stick butter
3 eggs
1 1/4 c. sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1 c. Bisquick
1 (19 oz.) can coconut milk
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 c. milk
1/2 tsp. salt
Mix all the ingredients to form a batter and pour in a deep baking pan (round) 2/3 full and cook in a steamer for 45 minutes.
So I did a few things differently. 1. I used 2-13.5 ounce cans of coconut milk and left out the cows milk. 2. I used small tart pans to steam individual sized portions. I then put the tart pans, six at a time into a steam pot and cooked them for about 20 minutes a batch. Tonight, I’m experimenting by putting 24 tart pans in a roasting pan with a bit of water and baking/steaming them. If it’s faster then I’ll do them all that way in the future. 🙂
Leave a Reply

