Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Raisin Spice Oatmeal

on September 11, 2012

Sometimes I like to go back to childhood to those cold winter morning when Mom would make us oatmeal. It’s  hot, hearty and a good way to start the day. However, now that I’m an adult, I like my oatmeal a little more sophisticated.

Recipe (serves 1-2)

1 3/4 cup water

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup old fashioned rolled oats

1/2 cup golden raisins

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

a smidge of ground cloves

a smidge of ground allspice

Bring the water and salt to a rolling boil in a saucepan. Add oats and cook according to package directions.

Place the remaining ingredients in a bowl. Add the cooked oatmeal and stir to combine. Let sit 2-5 minutes.

Now, a smidge is a very small quantity. I actually have a measuring spoon that says “smidge” but I would say it’s about a quarter of a 1/4 tsp. Cloves and allspice are very strong so it doesn’t take much.

At any rate, this recipe is super simple and makes not only a good breakfast but a good dessert. I ate a bowl last night because I was hungry and wanted a sweet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

