Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Creamy Broccoli and Cheddar Soup

on September 25, 2012

I was originally going to make crab cakes tonight. However, my crab wasn’t thawed out so I’ve had to put it off for another day or two. Instead I decided I wanted Broccoli Cheddar Soup. I remembered that I had an issue of Cook’s Illustrated that had a recipe that sounded good. This was the Soups & Stews 2012 issue and was authored by Bridget Lancaster on page 39.

Recipe

3 TB butter

1 large onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1 1/2 pounds broccoli, stems peeled and sliced into 1/2 inch pieces, florets chopped into 1/2 pieces

4 cups chicken broth

1 cup heavy cream

1/4 tsp ground nutmet

12 ounces cheddar cheese shredded plus more for garnish

Melt butter in large pot over medium heat. Add onion and cook until fragrant, about 5 minutes. Add garlic and cook until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add broccoli stems and cook until bright green and just beginning to soften, about 5 minutes. Stir in broth, increase heat to medium-high, and simmer until stems are tender, about 5 minutes. Add florets, cream and nutmeg, simmer until florets are tender, about 5 minutes.

Puree soup in two patches in a blender until smooth, return to pot and bring to a simmer over medium heat. Stir in cheddar until melted and season with salt and cayenne to taste. Serve garnish with extra cheese.

I didn’t follow the recipe exactly. I did this as a last minute whim and didn’t have fresh broccoli on hand so I used frozen. The thing I noticed about this is that it made the soup a little watery. I added extra cheese to counter act that problem. I also didn’t bother separating the stems from the florets because I didn’t have the big thick stems. So basically, I dumped 1.5 lbs of frozen broccoli in the pot. 🙂 I also added black pepper to the seasoning at the end. The last thing I did differently is I used my immersion blender instead of running it through a regular blender. I like chunks of broccoli in my soup and this made for a coarser soup which I enjoy. Overall, I think this recipe is probably pretty good if made with fresh broccoli as the recipes says. I just didn’t have it. I don’t know that I’ll make this recipe again with frozen broccoli. I will say that I am over all happy with it and will try this again in the future and it certainly hit the spot for dinner tonight. 😀

Leave a Reply

