Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Tomato Sauce

on September 27, 2012

Sunday Jene and I picked a decent quantity of tomatoes. As a result, I made sauce over the course of Sunday and Monday. Tonight I finished up the sauce and served it over quinoa to make dinner. I thought I’d share the recipe I’ve made up for tomato sauce.

Recipe

5 quarts fresh, home grown tomatoes (I used a combination of Sun Gold, Japanese Black Trifele and Black Krim)

splash of white wine

1/4-1/2 cup dried, minced shallots

1-2 tsp dried minced garlic

2-3 tsp Penzeys Tuscan Sunset (or other Italian seasoning)

For the larger tomatoes, cut them into halves or quarters, you can leave smaller tomatoes, such as the Sun Golds, whole. Toss them in a pot with a splash of white wine and put the heat on low. Now you get to wait… and wait… and wait. I simmer the tomatoes for 7-9 hours to make sure they’re nice and soft. Once they’re all mushy, I run them through the food mill to remove the seeds and skins.

As you can see in the picture on the left, my pot was very full. However, the tomatoes cook down to less than half that volume so it’s ok to fill the pot full. The white wine is just a small splash. Just enough to provide a little liquid to start the tomatoes stewing.

On the right, you can see how it’s all reducing down in the food mill. When you get done, there’s barely a handful of skin and seeds left. All the juice and pulp is down below in the pot.

After I have the tomatoes processed through the food mill, I put the pot on the stove, on low heat and add the garlic, shallots and seasoning then let it simmer for another 6-8 hours or so. It cooks at just barely a simmer. The purpose of this super long simmer is to cook off a lot of the water and thicken up the sauce. It also lets the flavors of the seasonings really marry into the tomatoes. By using the Sun Gold tomatoes, this sauce is crazy sweet. Once you have this basic sauce you can do all kinds of things with it. Tonight I browned some ground beef and then added the sauce and some sun-dried tomatoes (not packed in oil) to the sauce and let it simmer for 30-45 minutes. Then I cooked some quinoa and served it with sauce and parmesan cheese over top.

One response to “Tomato Sauce

  1. Tane Marie McKee, DVM says:

    Sounds super yummie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am a red sauce lover…….

Leave a Reply

