Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Chichen Pot Pie

on September 29, 2012

My friend Cat suggested that I make the Chicken Pot Pie recipe in the Joy of Cooking. So I broke out my edition from 1997 to make the recipe. It’s on pages 604-605. The first step is to make the Creamed Chicken recipe, then the pie.

Recipe – Creamed Chicken

The recipe calls for cooking chicken. I bought two rotisserie chickens at Costco today, let Jene eat what he wanted and used the rest for this. So about 2 lb of shredded chicken meat.

4 TB unsalted butter, melted in a large sauce pan over medium-low heat.

Whisk in 1/2 cup all-purpose flour until smooth. Continue to cook, whisking constantly, for another minute. Remove the pan from the heat.

Slowly whisk in 2 cups of chicken broth until smooth.

Then whisk in 1 1/2 cups heavy cream.

Increase the heat to medium and bring the mixture to a simmer, whisking constantly. (I did not whisk constantly, as long as you whisk it every 60-90 seconds or so, you should be fine.) Make sure there aren’t any lumps or stuck bits on the bottom of your pan and stir in the shredded chicken meat. I added a splash of white wine (the recipe calls for 2-3 TB of sherry). Cook for 1 more minute.

Remove from heat and season to taste with a few drops of lemon juice, ground black or white pepper and fresh grated or ground nutmeg. I used some of each.

Recipe – Chicken Pot Pie

This recipe only has a top crust which makes it really easy to make. I used pre-made puff pastry dough. Cat says she used phyllo dough. I was going to use phyllo but the store didn’t have any lol.

So once you have your creamed chicken made, position a rack in the upper third of the oven and preheat to 400F. Grease a 9×13 baking dish.

Heat 2 TB of unsalted butter in a large skillet over medium high heat until the foam begins to subside.

Add and cook, stirring often until just barely tender, about 5 minutes:

1 medium onion, chopped

3 medium carrots, peeled and sliced 1/4 inch thick (I used baby carrots because they’re the perfect size)

2 small celery stalks, cut 1/4 inch thick (I used 3 stalks)

I also cooked these until they started to caramelize because it deepens the flavor. Then I deglazed the pan with a bit of lemon juice and white wine and added that to the mix. Mix the veggies in with the creamed chicken.

The original recipe calls for adding 3/4 cup of frozen peas, thawed and 3 TB of fresh minced parsley. I left both of these out because I don’t like peas and didn’t have parsley.

Once everything is mixed together, taste for seasoning. I added a bit more black pepper and salt.

Now you can put it all in the baking dish. Lay the pastry dough over the top and tuck the edges down into sides of the pan. If you want a really pretty crust, brush it with some beaten egg. Bake for 25-35 minutes or until the top is golden brown and the filling is bubbling.

 

 

 

And here it is in all it’s golden glory. I immediately dished some up and started eating it before finishing this post lol. VERY good and I think this will be a standard in our house, especially once it gets colder.

One response to “Chichen Pot Pie

  1. […] cups cream sauce (see the Chicken Pot Pie […]

Leave a Reply

