Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Lots more tomato sauce and a dry rub recipe.

on September 30, 2012

So today I decided I was going to make a BIG batch of tomato sauce. I purchased about 24 lbs of mixed heirloom tomatoes at the farmer’s market today and then picked another 6-8 lbs out of the garden. My big 12 qt stock pot is FULL and I still have tomatoes to shove in there. So I’ve got it on the stove and as the tomatoes start to cook down, I’ll shove more on top. The reason for filling the pot so very very full is that the tomatoes will cook down by about half. Then the sauce itself will reduce by probably another half before it’s done. So I hope to get about 3 quarts of sauce out of this quantity of tomatoes.

I will mention that I did go back and take a few of these off the top of the pot since I realized I could stir it with it this full lol. So I have about 5-6 more lbs of tomatoes to put in the pot once this first batch starts to cook down. I’ll simmer this on low until bedtime then cover the pot and turn the heat off. I’ll come back tomorrow and finish it up πŸ™‚

In addition to beginning the tomato sauce, i also have a brisket in the smoker. I made up a really nice dry rub for it yesterday and actually remembered to measure the ingredients as I put them in. So not only can I make it again, I can share the recipe with you, my dedicated readers πŸ˜‰

The reason for using turbinado sugar is that the crystals are big and sharp. It serves some of the same purpose using kosher salt does. It scores the skin of the meat and helps the flavors soak in easier.

 

Recipe

1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar

1 1/2 cups turbinado sugar

1/2 cup kosher or sea salt

1/4 cup ground black pepper

1/4 cup paprika

1/4 cup granulated onion

1/4 cup granulated garlic

1/4 cup dry mustard

1 TB ground celery seed

1 TB fresh ground cloves (if you don’t want to grind your own, use 2 tsp ground cloves)

Mix everything together and store in an air tight container. This obviously makes a lot but I wanted to have a lot left over for future uses. Cut the recipe if half if you want less πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

