Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

A busy day!

on October 1, 2012

My youngest brother was supposed to be in town last night with his family as they move from San Diego, CA to Portland, OR. However, life being what it is, he didn’t make it until late tonight. In fact, at almost 8pm, he is at his hotel but has yet to make it to my house. Anyway, all of that aside, I did some cooking for them. Yesterday we smoked a brisket in anticipation. When we realized they wouldn’t be arriving we tested it for flavor (snicker) and put it in the fridge. This evening we sliced it thin and warmed it up in some duck stock.

After cooking the tomatoes I started yesterday for 12-14 hours or so I ran them through the food mill and have two pots of sauce simmering gently on the stove.

I made mayonnaise from scratch and used it to make coleslaw dressing. It’s incredibly rich and creamy. The dressing recipe makes a LOT. I used two bags of pre-cut coleslaw mix and a bag of broccoli slaw mix.

Recipe

2 cups mayonnaise

4-5 TB white wine vinegar

4 TB honey

2-3 TB Penzeys English Prime Rib Rub Seasoning

2-3 TB celery seed

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and whisk until everything combines and becomes smooth and creamy. Pour  over coleslaw and mix well.

I also sauteed some grey squash with onions, garlic and dill.

The only thing I’m missing is dessert and honestly, I’m worn out lol. I should go make brownies but honestly, I don’t have any room left on the stove top!

The picture on the right is the coleslaw looking all pretty in its bowl. The picture on the left is the pots of tomato sauce and the brisket in duck stock. The tomato sauce will reduce by about half over the course of the night on very low heat. I’m thinking I’ll get 5-6 quarts of sauce which is a lot better than I hoped.

Leave a Reply

