Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

At long last… PICKLES!!!

on October 6, 2012

After talking about making pickles for a few weeks, it has finally happened. I got my jars washed and filled and ready to go in the water bath canner. Before I start posting pictures, I should explain that I’m not using your typical GREEN cucumber lol. I’m using Crystal Apple cucumbers which are WHITE! So if nothing else, these jars are pretty.

I had to use a big picture because this is just so pretty. In the bottom of the jar are the following ingredients: 2 cloves garlic, 2 sprigs dill, 1/2 tsp dill seed, 1 tsp homemade pickling spice and a small piece of dried ginger (not candied ginger). A few of the jars have three dried dundicut peppers. A hot chili that sits at about 55,000-65,000 scoville units.

Recipe Pickling Spice

3 TB Mulling Spices

2 TB Mustard seeds

1 TB coriander seeds

2 TB Black pepper corns

3 bay leaves crumbled

Mix everything together and store in a cool dry place.

The reason I used mulling spices is because it’s already got cloves, allspice, and cinnamon combined. I’m lazy sometimes 🙂

Once I get the jars full of spices and cucumbers I ladled in a mix of half water and half vinegar that I brought to a boil with salt. For 18 pint jars I used 2 quarts of cider vinegar, 2 quarts of water and 1 cup of Kosher salt. Once the jars are filled I put the lids on and process in a water bath for 15 minutes. I’ve increased the time for the later batches to 20 minutes because the liquid has cooled down so much. I’ll test the seals on the lids tomorrow morning. Jars that sealed will go in the pantry to age and the ones that didn’t will go in the fridge to be eaten over the next week or so.

I should also mention that I also have another giant batch of tomato sauce going. Which makes me realize exactly why my grandfather had a separate canning kitchen in his house. You really can’t do much else when you’re canning lol. I hold the memory of smelling him making pickles and it’s a good memory. My house smells almost as good today. I’m already pretty sure I’m going to have to tweak this recipe some more to get the taste I want but today is a good start. Especially since I’ve never made pickles before 😀

Edit: I needed to come back and add that the Ball Blue Book of Preserving is the go to book for canning. It gives very simple and detailed instructions. It’s the standard on food preservation and has been around for decades, being updated every few years as food safety and preservation techniques are revamped.

One response to “At long last… PICKLES!!!

  1. elizabethquirion says:

    Hey Cat, Way cool! After pickling the pickles you should celebrate your fantastic success of the the pickling by getting pickled!!!Love, Liz

Leave a Reply

