Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Slow going

on October 11, 2012

I really haven’t been posting much this last week or so. I’ve been tired and barely cooking. I have accomplished some really awesome things.

I got the pickles made. They have too much ginger but otherwise are pretty good. I’ll tweak the spices for the ones I make next year. I’ll also plant actual pickle cucumbers. The crystal apple cucumbers have a very tough peel that isn’t so good for pickles.

Using a combination of home grown heirloom tomatoes and heirloom tomatoes that I purchased at the farmer’s markets I have 12.5 quarts of tomato sauce. Part of it’s frozen and part of it’s canned in quart jars. I’m especially proud of the jars because I am relatively new to canning. IĀ  grew up with my mom canning but I didn’t try it for myself until about 4 years ago.

Now, 18 pints of pickles and 12.5 quarts of tomato sauce may not sound like much in the over all scheme of things but I’m managing to do this while working full time and living with MS. I’m proud of what I’ve accomplished šŸ™‚

I made a very simple meal for dinner last night. I cooked up a couple of cups of quinoa in some chicken broth and served it covered in tomato sauce to which I had added artichoke hearts, broccoli and cauliflower. I sprinkled a bit of parmesan cheese on top for some bite. The quinoa has lots of protein in it and hasn’t been genetically tweaked like so many other grains. The tomato sauce was a bit left over from the last batch I cooked down and was pretty darn tasty. I simply dumped in a bag of frozen broccoli/cauliflower and a drained can of artichoke hearts. Adjust the seasoning and poof! A really hearty, veggie laden tomato sauce that can be used on all sorts of things.

I normally do a bunch of cooking and posting on the weekend but this weekend I’ll be busy. There’s a Smashing Pumpkins concert in the City that we’re going to tomorrow night and then staying over Saturday night to hang out with friends. I’ll be back at this next week and hopefully I’ll dream up something fantastic to post. šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

