Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Epic Tomato Sauce and Pappardelle Pasta

on October 15, 2012

When I said I wasn’t going to be cooking over the weekend I wasn’t entirely truthful. I took part of the kitchen with me to Darren’s house and made dinner for us Saturday night. To give you an idea of how sad Darren’s kitchen is, he tried to give me a large pot, his only largish bowl and his cutting board because he didn’t realize they actually belonged to him lol.

My post yesterday was about the Spice and Tea Exchange on Fisherman’s Wharf. The other half of Saturday’s shopping trip was visiting the Farmer’s Market at the Ferry Building off the Embarcadero in SF. I’ve been living here for almost five years and this was the first time I’d ever made been. I have a new favorite farmer’s market and fortunately, it’s far enough away that I won’t go broke buying mushrooms and other fresh produce, high end meats, oysters/seafood and cheeses. Yes, you can find all those items there.

So here’s a list of what I got and where…

3 types of squash (round zucchini, gray squash, small yellow squash) – outside produce vendor

light green and red sweet peppers – outside vendor

fresh basil – outside vender

chicken of the woods, chanterelle and lobster mushrooms – inside, Far West Fungi – I could rhapsodize about this store for hours.. I could also spend a couple of hundred dollars buying nothing but fresh mushrooms. I LOVE mushrooms and the selection made my mouth drop and then I drooled all over myself, Jene and Darren. They have the basic white, cremini and shitake mushrooms… Oyster mushrooms are fairly standard for a mushroom vendor. From there it gets really exciting. Not only did they have the standard golden colored chanterelles, they had yellow foot and BLACK chanterelles! They had beautiful, bright red Lobster mushrooms and Chicken of the Woods which I’d heard of but never seen for sale. I will be going back next time I want to make mushroom risotto to get some of those lovely colors and textures.

Guanciale – inside at Boccolone. This is salt cured pork jowl. The flavor of the meat is similar to prosciutto but much fattier. Perfect for frying up to render the fat.

chuck roast – inside at Prather Ranch Meat Co. Chuck roast requires a long simmer to make it tender. This melted in our mouths.

This picture is the produce from the market that went into the sauce.

So here’s the recipe for the sauce I finally made.

2 quarts tomato sauce (I used the home made sauce I canned the week before.)

.40 lb guanciale – chopped

2 lbs chuck roast – cubed 1″

1 lb mixed mushrooms (I used chanterelle, lobster and chicken of the woods) – chopped

1.5 lbs mixed squash – chopped

2 small sweet peppers – chopped

1 medium onion – chopped

Fresh basil

Put the tomato sauce in a large pot over low heat.

In a large skillet over medium high heat, fry the guanciale to render out the fat. Add the beef in small batches to sear. Add to the pot with the tomato sauce. The chicken of the woods mushroom is large flat disk of a mushroom. It’s also very dry. It requires a long low simmer to achieve anything resembling a decent texture. I put it in with the meats at the beginning of the cooking. I let this mixture simmer for about 3 hours.

Using the same large skillet as for the meats (leave the remaining fat in the pan) add about 1 TB of butter, the remaining mushrooms, the onion and peppers. Sautee until the mushrooms release some water and add to the sauce. Simmer for another 45 minutes. Then add the chopped squash. Bring the heat up to medium low and simmer 10 minutes. Add chopped basil to taste. Serve over a hearty pasta.

For this dish I made pappardelle noodles. This is a traditional italian egg noodle (the same dough make fettucine or linguine) it’s just cut wider, about 1″ wide. The wider noodle stands up better to a heavy sauce. And, crazy that I am, I sat at Darren’s making noodles from scratch. It was worth it 🙂

Darren doesn’t own a strainer so to prevent the noodles from being soggy, I put them in a dishtowel. Odd but effective. Here you can see the wide width of the noodles. And here is a bowl of noodles topped off with the sauce and some grated parmesan cheese.

One response to “Epic Tomato Sauce and Pappardelle Pasta

  1. Mel says:

    Looks super yummy!! I miss my kitchen 😦

Leave a Reply

