Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Oatmeal Blondies

on October 20, 2012

It’s really hard to lose weight and be fit when you have a sweet tooth… sigh. For example, I was happily snuggled up in bed this evening when I had a sudden craving for baked goods. I wanted something that was easy to make and had some texture to it. I’d been thinking about blondies for awhile. They’re similar to brownies but don’t have the cocoa. So I did what I always do when I’m looking for inspiration, I surfed the internet! I found the recipe for Milly’s Oatmeal Brownies on allrecipes.com. It fit the bill perfectly for my current craving. I adore oatmeal so this was just what I was looking for.

Recipe

1 cup butter at room temperature

1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar (I was out so I subbed in 1 cup of turbinado sugar)

1/2 cup white sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 cups rolled oats

chocolate chips (optional)

raisins (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350F. Grease and flour a 9×18 baking dish.

In a large bowl, beat the butter, brown sugar, and white sugar until thoroughly mixed and creamy. Beat in the eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Stir in the vanilla extract until well mixed, and mix in salt, baking soda, baking powder, flour, rolled oats, plus chocolate chips, raisins, and chopped nuts if desired. Mix well to moisten all ingredients, and spread into the prepared baking pan. I used white chocolate chips and toffee bits. The batter was VERY thick and I had to smoosh it into the pan with my hands. However, it baked up beautifully.

Bake in the preheated oven until golden brown, 20 to 25 minutes. Let cool in the pan for about 5 minutes before cutting into bars.

Now… using the turbinado sugar made a bit of a change in the texture and flavor profile. Instead of a cakey sort of brownie it came out almost caramely if that makes any sense. Turbinado sugar is made from sugar cane but minimally processed. It’s a golden brown color and comes in large crystals. It’s got a slightly richer flavor (I think) than brown sugar. It has more moisture in it than traditional brown sugar so that contributes to the ooey gooey factor in the blondies. The toffee chips don’t hurt than any either lol. The oatmeal adds just that perfect, chewy texture. Basically, I loved this recipe. I will admit it’s just a trifle bit too sweet but then again, it’s only too sweet if I’m eating a quarter of a pan at a time… Obviously,  I would never do something like that (pay no attention to the empty pan).

 

 

One response to “Oatmeal Blondies

  1. mydearbakes says:

    Awww, this looks so heavenly. yummy! =)

Leave a Reply

