Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Portabella Mushrooms stuffed with Homemade Sausage

on October 22, 2012

The asian market down the street had portabella mushrooms on sale when I was there yesterday. Being a big lover of mushrooms, I bought lots! I also picked up a nice fatty piece of pork shoulder and decided to try my hand at making sausage. Since I don’t have casings yet, this was a great excuse to make a fresh, uncased sausage to stuff my mushrooms with. And because my hubby is completely awesome, I had the grinder attachment to my KitchenAid mixer. He bought it for me three years ago and this is the FIRST time I’ve used it lol.

The grinder is basically a plastic tube with a screw inside that pushes the meat through a cutting blade and die. The die comes in two sizes, large grind and small grind. After fitting the attachment to the front of my mixer I started feeding the cold (first lesson, it should be almost frozen cold) into the chute of the grinder, using the large die. Then I switched to the small die and fed the meat back through again, this time adding a few cloves of garlic. Once everything was ground the second time, I put the meat in the mixer bowl and using the paddle, I beat in salt, red wine and seasonings. Then I took a small bit and fried it up in a pan. With pork, you need to cook your sample instead of eating it raw. Jene and I decided it tasted pretty good πŸ™‚

The next step was to add my veggies for the stuffing. I added minced celery, onions and mushrooms, stirred it all together and heaped it up on top of the mushrooms. I decided that the mushrooms needed an acid flavor so I drizzled some balasmic vinegar in the caps before adding the sausage stuffing. Finally, I topped it off with a bit of grated parmesan cheese. Then the mushrooms went in the oven at 350F for about 45 minutes.

The texture of the sausage come out really nice. It’s more tender and not as mealy as store bought sausage. I will definitely be making more sausage! Jene and I both feel the flavor is missing something but can’t quite nail down what. I was in too much of a hurry to keep adding things and frying a taste to fix it tonight. It’s not bad, just missing something… I’ll figure it out on the next batch. πŸ™‚

 

In addition to the sausage, I also processed yet another batch of tomatoes. Theoretically this is the last batch for the season and it was a small batch, just the tomatoes from the garden yesterday. I’ll get a quart or two and that’s perfect. πŸ™‚

I picked up some proper pickling cucumbers which I was going to can tonight but the sausage making took a bit longer than I thought it would. So pickling will take place tomorrow. I decided to use some regular, green cucumbers because the crystal apple cucumber skins are just too tough for my liking. Plus I got too much ginger in the spice mix and it’s a little strong. Not bad, but not the flavor I’m looking for.

So that’s today’s cooking adventures. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

