Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Bacon-wrapped Asparagus, poached eggs and dill hollandaise sauce

on October 25, 2012

What do you do when you have absolutely no idea what to make for dinner and all your large proteins are in the freezer? You improvise!

Sunday I happened to find some really nice finger size asparagus for only an arm, instead of an arm and a leg. I bought three pounds and have been thinking about what to do with it. Tonight, I figured out a use for some of it. I had some bacon so I wrapped the bacon around bunches of five asparagus spears and broiled it in the oven until the bacon was crispy and the asparagus was tender, about ten minutes, flipping it once halfway through.

I was originally thinking about a cream sauce but Jene wasn’t thrilled about that idea but he got onboard for some hollandaise sauce. I used my favorite recipe from Epicurious.com. This sauce is crazy easy to make because the blender does all the hard work. I never make hollandaise with a whisk anymore lol.

Finally, I poached up a couple of eggs for each of us. Topped everything with sauce and viola! Dinner 😀

Dill Hollandaise

Epicurious  | 2005

by Katie Brown

3 egg yolks
salt and pepper
1-2 tablespoons lemon juice
2 sticks unsalted butter
dill, snipped

1. In a blender, combine egg yolks, pepper, and 1 tablespoon of lemon juice.

2. In a small saucepan, melt the butter and heat until bubbling hot.

3. Cover the blender and blend the egg yolk mixture on high speed for several seconds.

4. Either remove center cap of blender lid or carefully remove the lid itself with blender still running.

5. Pour hot butter in a thin stream into whirring egg mixture.

6. Add dill and pulse to combine.

7. Taste sauce and adjust seasoning with lemon juice, salt, and pepper.
If sauce gets too thick, add one tablespoon of hot water at a time to make it thinner.
So here’s a picture of it. I sort of started eating it before I remembered to take a picture lol. But it was really good and I was really hungry

Leave a Reply

