Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Kalbi Style Short Ribs

on November 4, 2012

One nice thing about having so much ethnic diversity is that I can easily get cuts of meat that weren’t so common in the Midwest. One of these is the cross cut short rib. Cut across the bone to about 1/2 inch thick, this is a popular cut among the Asians and Hispanics. One of my favorite ways of cooking it is to marinate it in Asian flavors (soy, ginger, garlic, onion and sesame) then grill it. So while I was out running errands today, I picked up a few pounds of short ribs. The following is a rough recipe for the marinade to make Kolbi Style Short Ribs.

Recipe

1/2 cup soy sauce

2 cloves garlic finely minced (I actually grated it on my Microplane)

1 TB finely minced scallion (I grated some yellow onion because I was out of scallions)

2  TB turbinado or brown sugar

1 TB sesame oil

1 TB fresh grated ginger (I love my Microplane)

Mix everything together in a large bowl, allowing the sugar to dissolve. Turbinado sugar will take longer than brown sugar to dissolve so give it that extra time. Add the meat and toss to coat. Allow to marinate for as long as possible. Today they got about five hours but over night is fine too.

Heat the grill to high, grease the grate. Put the meat on and cook for about 3 minutes per side. This is a thin cut and doesn’t take long to cook. Serve it up with some sticky rice and veggies.

 

This picture on the left is the ribs sitting happily in their bowl. Above you can see them on the grill, a particularly nice picture. And finally, the finished product. I think the recipe is still missing something but Jene says I’m being silly. He said the flavor is awesome. I think it needs just a touch of acidity, maybe some rice wine vinegar… We’ll see what happens next time I make them. 😉

Leave a Reply

