Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Chicken and Rice Soup

on November 12, 2012

Yep, definitely soup season! Today I was thinking that chicken and rice soup sounded really good so here’s what I made. I had a little over a quart of stock from the batch I canned the other day so I started with that. Jene brought me a rotisserie chicken that I then pulled all the meat off and added to the pot. I added about 2 quarts of water to make sure there was enough water for cooking the rice and still having a soupish consistency. I say “soupish” because my soups are notoriously thick lol. Then I added a bunch of veggies and two cups of rice. As a rule of thumb, when cooking rice to make it “dry” you want double the amount of water to rice. So obviously, this is going to need at least 2 quarts of liquid. Maybe more depending on how soupy you want it.

Recipe

3-5 quarts water or stock (depending on soupyness level)

1 rotisserie chicken, meat pulled off the bones (if you have time, boil the carcasses to make the stock for the soup but that requires planning ahead)

1 large onion, chopped

3 large carrots, peeled and chopped

4-6 ribs of celery (I like LOTS of celery)

2 cups rice

Put everything in a large pot except the rice. Bring to a boil, add the rice and stir. Season to taste. (I used Penzeys Bavarian seasoning) Simmer for about 30 minutes or until the rice is tender. Add more liquid as necessary to maintain soupyness. That’s it, really easy lol.

Edit: I wanted to add that unless you use a lot of liquid, upping the soupyness level, you will have something that more closely resembles porridge than soup the next day. (The rice keeps absorbing liquid.) Which I think it perfect. My mom always laughs at me for my lack of soupy soup. 😉

Leave a Reply

