Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Creamy Cabbage & Kale (Sahniger Kohl & Grunkohl)

on November 15, 2012

I was discussing this recipe with a fellow patient at Palo Alto Medical Foundation this morning. I couldn’t find it on my phone but knew I had it here at home. As I promised, I’m posting it. I don’t have any pictures since I’m not actually making it today lol.

Recipe

1 Kale bunch chopped & stemmed
1 lb Cabbage shredded
2 tb Corn oil
1/2 c Heavy cream
3/4 c Parmigian cheese grated
Salt & pepper to taste

Put your chopped kale in boiling water for 5-6 mins. until leaves are tender. Drain well.
Saute cabbage over medi-heat in oil until it softens. Add kale then saute for 2-3 mins.
Stir in your cream then simmer for 3-5 mins. while stirring often.
Add cheese then allow to melt slightly.
Remove from heat season with salt & pepper to taste.

Notes: If you like, chop 6 slices thick cut bacon and one small onion. Sauteed the bacon and onion in a large skillet. Do not drain the fat off, instead add the cabbage and sautee according to instructions, don’t use the oil.

Leave a Reply

