Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Thanksgiving Prep

on November 16, 2012

I’m sure most of you can guess that Thanksgiving is my absolute favorite holiday lol. It gives me a wonderful excuse to cook like a mad woman. I’ve been working on planning my menu and getting my ingredients together. So far, here’s what I’ve got

2 15lb Turkeys to go in the smoker

8-10 lbs of turkey legs/thighs to braise

sourdough, bacon and wild mushroom dressing

stove top stuffing (kicked up with fresh veggies)

mashed potatoes

sweet potatoes

candied carrots

sauteed brussels sprouts

gravy

fresh rolls (I use my bread machine to make the dough)

pumpkin cheesecake

pumpkin pie

mixed berry pie

cherry pie

rum cake (maybe)

Plus whatever else friends bring with them 🙂 I might make some nibble bits like deviled eggs and little smokies wrapped in cresent roll dough and baked. Yes, I know it’s not home made but they taste good lol.

I thought I’d start posting a recipe each day this next week to share what I’m going to be making. However, there won’t be any pictures until after Thanksgiving 🙂

So on that note, here’s the way to take a box of Stove Top Stuffing Mix and make everyone think it’s a marvelous home made batch of stuffing.

Recipe

1 box Stove Top Stuffing

1/2 stick butter

1/3 cup finely diced onion

1/3 cup finely diced celery

1/3 cup finely diced carrots

1 2/3 cup chicken or turkey broth

Melt the butter in a pot and add the onion, celery and carrot (you can also add mushrooms if you like them). Saute the veggies until the onions are translucent, about 5-6 minutes. Add the broth and bring to a boil. Stir in the contents of the stuffing pouch from the box. Cover and remove from heat. Let stand 5 minutes. Fluff and serve. Now, if you like it a bit crunchy, you can put it in a baking dish and bake at 350F for about 20 minutes.

Leave a Reply

