Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Cranberry Sauce

on November 19, 2012

Cranberry sauce is a dish I can take or leave, but Jene loves it. I don’t like serving him stuff out of a can so I’m making my own this year. Since I didn’t already have a recipe I was dying to try, I turned to my favorite website, http://www.epicurious.com

This site tends to have really good recipes and the instructions are easy to follow as well. In fact, my dressing recipe is from Epicurious as well. So here’s the link to the recipe. And then I’m gonna tweak it a bit. (Is anyone surprised?)

Recipe

yield: Makes about 2 1/2 cups

active time: 5 min

total time: 20 min

1 cup water
1 cup sugar
12-oz bag fresh or frozen cranberries (3 cups)
1/2 teaspoon freshly grated orange zest
Bring water and sugar to a boil, stirring until sugar is dissolved. Add cranberries and simmer, stirring occasionally, until berries just pop, 10 to 12 minutes. Stir in zest, then cool.
Personally, I like my cranberry sauce a bit orangier and will be replacing about 1/4 cup of the water with orange juice and add a bit more orange zest. I will also reduce the sugar by a bit. This sounds like it will be much sweeter than I like.

 

Leave a Reply

