Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Raisin Buttermilk Drop Scones

on November 27, 2012

I made Turkey Pot Pie for dinner tonight. I used the recipe for Chicken Pot Pie that I’ve posted previously. It was really good and very satisfying BUT I wanted something sweet afterwards. Since we ate at 8pm (I was stuck working until almost 63o) it was a bit late to make bread. Since I already had a copy of The Joy of Cooking out I decided to see what they had listed for muffins. Don’t ask why I thought of muffins, I usually hate making them lol. So (no surprise) there weren’t any muffin recipes that grabbed my attention. Upon further browsing I saw scones. Now that’s a dessert I love. Not only are scones good for dessert, they make awesome breakfast nibbles. I started with the Dried Fruit and Buttermilk Drop Scones (Reduced Fat/Low Cholesterol) and tweaked it a bit.

Recipe

2 cups all purpose flor

1/4 cup sugar

4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground cloves

1/8 tsp ground allspice

1 large egg

1 cup buttermilk

3 1/2 TB warm, melted unsalted butter or 3 TB vegetable oil (I used butter)

1/2 cup raisins or other dried fruit (I used golden raisins)

Preheat oven to 400F. Lightly grease a baking pan or line it with parchment paper.

Whisk together all the dry ingredients. Here’s where I added my own spin. The original recipe did not call for the cinnamon, cloves and allspice. I’m guessing how much I put in the batter but it wasn’t much. Just enough to go well with the golden raisins I used.

Whisk the liquid ingredients and the dried fruit together. (If your melted butter doesn’t have time to cool, whisk together the egg and buttermilk then add the butter in a slow stream while whisking.) I used nice plump golden raisins. Add this mixture to the dry ingredients. The batter is really sticky (I mean REALLY sticky). Use a soup spoon or ice cream scoop to drop the batter into mounds 2.5 inches in diameter and at least 1 inch apart on the baking sheet. Sprinkle with a bit of cinnamon and sugar. Bake until the tops are golden brown, about 12-15 minutes.

Makes 12 scones.

When I first picked this recipe, I was thinking of making it with dried apricots. But once I was actually in the kitchen I realized that apricots just didn’t have the flavor I wanted tonight. I didn’t want tart, I wanted sweet and spicy. So by using the raisins I got the sweet and then added the extra spices. And this recipe is super easy to make too. Upon tasting, they’re pretty good. Next time I’ll add more cinnamon 🙂

Leave a Reply

