Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Vibrant Chicken in Spicy Tomato Sauce

on December 16, 2012

I think it’s safe to say that Thanksgiving wore me out given how long it’s been since I posted. Mostly I just haven’t been doing much cooking. I made a curry last week that was ok but nothing worth writing about. I made a Mexican Corn Pudding, again, nothing spectacular. However, tonight I made a curry that is VERY worth writing about. This recipe comes from 660 Curries by Raghavan Iyer (2008, pg 137-138). My friend Cat turned me on to this cookbook for which I am eternally grateful.

Recipe

1/4 cup ginger paste (from a tube I bought at the store. you can make it at home but I’m lazy)

2 TB garlic paste (also from a tube, also used out of laziness)

1 chicken (3 1/2 lbs) cut into pieces (I used boneless skinless thighs. cutting up a chicken  takes work!)

1 TB canola oil

1 can (14.5 oz) tomato sauce

1/2 cup Fried Onion Paste (see recipe at the end of this)

1 TB coriander seeds, ground

2 tsp sweet paprika

1 1/2 tsp kosher salt

1 tsp cumin seeds, ground

1/2 tsp ground tumeric

1/2 tsp cayenne (i used half this amount cause I’m a wimp)

Combine the ginger and garlic pastes in a medium bow and mix well. Add the chicken and smear them all over with the paste.

Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high. Add the chicken pieces, meat side down, in a single layer and cook until they are lightly browned, about 3 minutes. Turn the pieces over and cook on the other side until lightly browned about 3 minutes. Transfer to a plate.

Add the tomato sauce, onion paste, coriander, salt, paprika, cumin, tumeric and cayenne to the skillet. The sauce will immediately start to bubble and boil. Reduce the heat to medium-low, cover and simmer, stirring occasionally until a thin layer of oil separates from the sauce, about 20-25 minutes.

Return the chicken to the skillet and coat them with the sauce. Cook, covered, turning the chicken occasionally, until  the meat in the thickest parts is no longer pink, about 20-25 minutes.

Since I used boneless thighs I cut the cooking by about half since they cooked quicker.

This really is an awesome curry. It’s quick to make and has a nice rich flavor. The Fried Onion paste is a very nice addition.

Fried Onion Paste

2 lbs red onions (I used yellow since that’s what i had), halved lengthwise and thinly sliced

1/4 cup canola oil

Heat a pan over medium heat without the oil in it yet. When it’s hot, add the oil Which will immediately start to shimmer. Add the onions and cook them stirring occasionally until they are caramel brown in color. 25-30 minutes (or even longer) you want a long slow caramelization process to bring out all the flavor without the onions turning bitter.

Pour 1 cup of water into a blender. Add the onions and puree to make a smooth paste. Leftovers will keep in the fridge for up to 1 week.

vibrantchickencurry

Leave a Reply

