Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

My newest project: Cheese

on December 22, 2012

I have long wanted to make my own cheese. However, I’ve been doing rather a lot of other stuff and cheese making has been put off. I finally got some supplies and with the long weekends for Christmas and New Year’s I’m going to tackle making cheese. Yesterday I ordered a bunch of supplies from CheeseandYogurtMaking.com.

I ordered rennet, calcium chloride and a whole bunch of cheese molds. This picture is the mold set I ordered. I’m hoping it will be here just after the first of the year.

cheese-making-mold-kit-001b

Of course I couldn’t just be patient so I found a cheese making supply house today and got some rennet, mesophilic culture and calcium chloride. Then I stopped at the store to get milk lol. I’m going to start with cream cheese. I made some a couple of weeks ago using vinegar as the coagulating agent instead of rennet. Unfortunately, it was not what I wanted. It was ok but very soft. I need a thicker cream cheese that will hold up to being turned into a cheesecake. I also want to make cottage cheese.

The book I’m using is called 200 Easy Homemade Cheese Recipes by Debra Amrein-Boyes. It gives a good intro that discusses all the ingredients in detail. The tools you need and why you have to do things in a specific way. I’m excited to add another skill to my culinary abilities and if I get good at this it will make awesome presents!

One response to “My newest project: Cheese

  1. ihtreuer says:

    Welcome to the cheese making family, I love 200 Easy Cheese, it was the first book I really learned a lot from. Have fun and I just started following so I can see you results.

Leave a Reply

