Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Cream Cheese

on December 25, 2012

It’s been a wonderful Christmas Day. Jene spoiled me rotten with gifts and even went to the grocery store with me lol. Since it’s quiet now I thought I’d post about how my cream cheese attempt came out.

I’m a toss it in a pot and call it good type of person. Cheese making doesn’t let me do that. Because I’m working with dairy and bacteria I need to make sure everything I use it sterilized. That means that I actually have to think about what I’m doing. šŸ˜‰ I got all my gear sterilized and got started.

The basic steps are heat the milk, add the mesophilic culture, the rennet and let it sit. There’s only one little problem If you don’t rinse your bleached dishes well enough or you miss that one little spot in the book that says to boil the water you dilute the rennet with, your cheese doesn’t set up properly. So what happened was that after letting the cheese sit for 24 hours it wasn’t properly set. I was able to strain it and have cream cheese but it’s much closer to a spreadable cream cheese than a stiff cream cheese for baking. However, the flavor is PERFECT! It’s got that tangy cream cheese flavor that I adore. Add it’s so amazingly creamy.

I will definitely be making my own cream cheese from now on instead of buying it. Tonight’s experiment is cottage cheese. I’ve got my milk, culture, rennet and calcium chloride sitting and resting for two hours. Then I can check the curds. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

