Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Cottage Cheese: FAIL

on December 26, 2012

I hate it when I do something so completely wrong that it’s not even a little bit salvageable. Unfortunately, my first attempt at cottage cheese was just that. For some reason I’m having problems with my rennet not working properly. In this case, I got a top layer of firm curds but only about the top 1/4 inch. The rest of it was about the consistency of very thick cream. I don’t know what I’m doing wrong. 😦

Possible problems:

1. The milk wasn’t warm enough (it’s supposed to reach 70F and I don’t currently have a thermometer that reads that low so I’m guessing)

2. I didn’t get all the bleach rinsed off from the sterilization process. (possible)

3. I just suck at this.

Option 3 is unlikely πŸ˜‰Β  So that brings me back to option 1 and option 2. I’ve decided to boil everything for sterilization and just eliminate the possible bleach problem.Β  My cheese supplies should be here some time during the next week and I’ll have a proper thermometer. It’s also remotely possible that I got a bad batch of rennet. I’ll have more rennet coming with my order.

Jene reminded me this morning that this is a LEARNING process and boy is he right! It’s unusual for me to find something in the field of food creation that I can’t just walk into the kitchen and *poof* it comes out right. But I’m not giving up! Stay tuned for more cheese making updates πŸ˜€

4 responses to “Cottage Cheese: FAIL

  1. ihtreuer says:

    Did you stir the rennet in the milk with an up and down motion? Are you using tablets or liquid? Did you use non-chlorinated water to mix the rennet with? These are a few other things you could look at. Good luck, I had a few unsuccessful attempt my first time. Keep at it!

  2. Might want to think about trying distilled/purified water instead of tap water. I don’t use anything else for the soap, because the water here is heavily mineralized.

    • I used distilled water for this attempt. I used unboiled tap water for the cream cheese which I’m SURE was part of the problem for that. I’m headed to the supply store right now and I’m gonna ask some questions while I’m there πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

