Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Slower Cooker Asian Pork Loin

on December 29, 2012

This is actually something I threw together earlier this week and finally got around to nibbling on. Jene’s been taking it to work for lunch but I’ve been eating bagels with home made cream cheese lol. This recipe happened because I had a chunk of pork loin (3-4 lbs maybe) that I needed to do something with. I didn’t feel like stuffing it so I got out the slow cooker. I had picked up a copy of Cooking Light Best Ever Slow Cooker Recipes and one of the recipes gave me the idea of what I made.

Recipe

1 pork loin roast 3-4 lbs

1/4 cup soy sauce

2 TB rice wine vinegar

1 TB garlic paste

1 TB ginger paste

1 tsp sesame oil

pepper to taste

Spray the inside of the slow cooker with some non-stick cooking spray. Put the pork loin in the pot, fat side up. Mix the remaining ingredients in a bowl and pour over the pork loin. Cook 3-4 hours on low until the pork is cooked through. Unlike a pork shoulder, you do NOT want to cook this until it falls apart. Pork loin is a very lean cut of meat and should only be cooked to an internal temp of 145F. If you over cook it, it gets really dry.

For the ginger and garlic pastes… if your store doesn’t carry those lovely tubes of pre-made paste, just use finely minced fresh ginger and garlic in place.

One last note… as usual, I didn’t actually measure my ingredients so I’m guessing. You want enough liquid to come about 1/2 – 3/4 inch up the side of the pork loin. So if the measurements I gave don’t make enough, just make more. šŸ˜‰

What I did today was make some rice, pour some sauce over the rice and put some slivers of pork on top. Really really tasty. This recipe is one I will put into rotation and make on a regular basis.

Leave a Reply

