Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Cottage Cheese: Take 2

on December 30, 2012

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, I decided to tackle cottage cheese again using a different recipe and different ingredients. Today I’m going to let you know how it came out. First off is a picture of my mise en place. That means having all my stuff set up and ready to go without fumbling around the kitchen trying to find stuff lol. All the utensils have been sterilized in boiling water and are sitting on clean paper towels to help prevent re-contamination from the counter.

cheese mise en place

It wasn’t a a total fail but it wasn’t complete success either. I added my culture, rennet and calcium chloride in the quantities called for in the book. After several hours there wasn’t even a little bit of setting. The milk hadn’t even thickened up to yogurt consistency. The recipe called for 1/4 tsp rennet diluted in 1/4 cup of water and then to use only 1 TB of that solution. Out of sheer frustration I dumped the rest of the rennet solution into the milk. Well, wadda ya know, it actually worked. When I woke up about 530am and checked it I had a soft but decent curd.

cottage cheese curds

I cut the curd and cooked it according to the directions. Here’s where I ran into some problems. I think the curds should have maybe set a bit longer. They weren’t bad when I cut them but when I started to stir it appeared that the milk hadn’t set as much on the bottom of the pan. This happened on my last batch too but that time I didn’t get anything usable. This batch is going to be edible but I don’t have the softly rounded curds that I expected from a cottage cheese recipe. This is going to be more of a crumbly cheese like a mild feta. So while it’s not exactly what I was looking for I think this will make an awesome cheese for stuffing chili rellenos.

 

Leave a Reply

