Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Cottage Cheese: Success!!

on January 6, 2013

As you can tell from my last post about cottage cheese, my second attempt was marginally better than my first but still a long way from a success. My books said that un-homogenized milk was the best option for making cheese but that homogenized could be used. I am here to say that from my experience homogenized milk does NOT work. Today I bought raw milk that is un-pasturized and un-homogenized. This has been MUCH more successful. The milk set into curds just the way it’s supposed to.

cottage cheese curds2This picture is of the curds after I’ve cut and stirred them. They were nice and easy to cut without falling apart into mush like the last batch. cottagecheesesuccess

After cutting the curds the temperature is slowly raised while being stirred for about an hour. Then I drained and rinsed the curds, Leaving them like you see in the picture above. They’re firm and slightly squeeky which is just fun to eat. Unlike store bought cottage cheese it isn’t all creamy and wet. I could make it that way but I don’t want to do that at this point. Basically, after pulling my hair out, I finally managed to get it right. ๐Ÿ™‚ย  The biggest bummer is that raw milk is expensive, $9/half gallon and many of my recipes use 2 gallons at a time. I need a cow! lol

2 responses to “Cottage Cheese: Success!!

  1. ihtreuer says:

    Well done, I am glad you had some success. I am jealous that you can buy raw milk. You might be able to make it with cream line milk if you can find it your area.

Leave a Reply

