Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Mr. Gyros, Overland Park KS

on April 12, 2013

I love Greek/Mediterranean food and so far, Mr. Gyros is my favorite place to get it. They have rich flavors and good prices. Unfortunately, they’re now about 1900 miles from where I live. What that means is that every time I’m in the area I eat there as often as I can! They have all the usual Greek foods you expect; gyros (the usual beef and lamb mix and a chicken mix that rocks), dolmades, mousaka, pastichio, tzatziki, and spanikopita. They do a wonderful grilled chicken too. My favorite meal is the combination plate with has gyro meat, pita, spanikopita, dolmades, pastichio and a bit of greek salad.

For those of you not familiar with Greek food, I’ll explain what each bit is.

Gyros: A mixture of finely minced beef and lamb, seasoned with garlic, oregano and other spices that is patted onto a big spit that slowly turns in front of a heating element. The cooked meat on the outside is cut off into ribbons as people order the meat. It’s grilled for a few minutes on a flatop and then served. Mr. Gyros also does this with minced chicken meat and it’s awesome.

Dolmades: Grape leaves stuffed with a mixture of spiced meat and rice then steamed. About the size of a person’s finger and very similar in appearance to a cabbage roll only smaller and darker. The grape leaves have a very tangy flavor.

Pastichio: This is one of my favorite dishes. It’s penne pasta with seasoned ground beef on top and a thick custardy cream sauce on top of that. It’s delicious!

Spanikopita: Spinach and feta cheese with seasonings stuffed between layers of phyllo dough. It’s kind of like a spinach pie. I enjoy it with  some fresh lemon juice squeezed on top.

Tzatziki: a yogurt and cucumber dip seasoned with garlic and dill. I like to dip my gyro meat straight into it.

mrgyroscombo

Starting at the top left and going clockwise: Pastichio, gyro meat laying on pita bread, greek salad, container of tzatziki, and spanikopita. The dolmade is hiding behind the pastichio by the lemon wedge.

It was all delicious! I actually ate here twice during my trip to KS. Mr. Gyros is about an hour and a half from my mom’s house too. Fortunately I had plenty of excuses to visit Kansas City and eat here 😉

The final crown in the meal is the coconut baklava. No, it’s not traditional. I don’t like walnuts and therefore find traditional baklava unappealing. However, the coconut is really nice. I love the pairing of coconut and honey.

coconutbaklava

So if you get the chance to swing by 83rd and Metcalf in Overland Park, KS, take the time to stop and visit Mr. Gyros.

 

 

Leave a Reply

