Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Vegetarian Chili

on April 12, 2013

Now that I’m back home, I’ve been busy making a mess of the kitchen. And although I haven’t been posting this week, I’ve been busy cooking up quite a lot. The first thing Jene asked me to make was a vegetarian chili. I made this for a party a couple of years ago that had a vegetarian attending. I guess it made an impression because Jene wanted me to make it again lol.

After rummaging around in my memory for a bit I came up with the following recipe. (I apologize for the lack of a picture. I was too lazy to go get my phone.)

Recipe

4 cans of beans (1 can each of black, canneloni, pinto and kidney)

1/2 head of celery, chopped

1 onion, choppped

5 cloves garlic, minced

1 lb carrots, chopped

20 oz mushrooms, sliced and sauteed to remove the water

1 lb asparagus, cut into 1 inch pieces

chili powder, to taste

cumin, to taste

salt and pepper, to taste

This makes a pretty big batch so I used my 6 qt crockpot. It can also be made on the stove over very low heat.

Spray the inside of the crockpot with non-stick cooking spray. Drain and rinse the beans then dump them in the pot. For the celery I washed the entire head without pulling any stalks off. Then I just started cutting it from the end until I’d used up half of it. This way you get the leaves in the chili. They have lots of good flavor. Add the celery, onions and carrots to the pot. Season with salt, pepper and chili powder to taste. Do NOT put the mushrooms and asparagus in yet. Set the crockpot on low and let it cook for about 5-6 hours. Meanwhile, saute the mushrooms in some butter in a skillet over medium low heat for about 20 minutes. The purpose of this is to cook out the water so they don’t make the chili runny. Chop the asparagus. When you’re about 45 minutes away from wanting to eat, add the mushrooms and asparagus to the pot, stir them in and and check the seasoning. If necessary add a bit more seasoning. Let cook just until the asparagus is tender. Turn of and serve with shredded cheese, sour cream and chopped green onions if desired.

For those of you who know me, you know I’m a big fan of Penzeys spices. I used their Chili 9000 for the chili powder. The number has nothing to do with heat so it’s not very hot. It’s just  very rich, flavorful chili powder with something like 26 ingredients in it. I highly recommend it. 🙂

And no, I didn’t eat any of this chili. I hate beans lol. Jene really enjoyed it and has been taking it to work for lunch this week.

Leave a Reply

