Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Apple Spice Dump Cake Crumble: Perfected!

on May 12, 2013

I’ve posted about dump cakes before. It’s certainly not a new idea. However, I think that dump cake is “make your teeth hurt” sweet. So I’ve been working on making a dump cake that is a little less sweet and a little more sophisticated. I’ve finally perfected it šŸ™‚

The occasion for making this was a party to meet a dear friend of mine face to face for the first time. Doug and I have been friends for something like ten years but (like my husband and I) we met online playing a video game. Since Doug lives in Japan, there hasn’t been a chance for us to meet in person before. In celebration of seeing him, I cooked. Anyone who knows me at all, knows that means I cooked a LOT lol. I smoked four tri-tips, made my Greek style quinoa salad, a pan of my brownies and two pans of this dump cake. We managed to eat three of the tri-tips, about two thirds of the brownies, most of the salad and one of the dump cakes. This means that I currently have an entire dump cake in my kitchen. No one else wanted to take something quite that calorie and carb laden lol. Imagine that! šŸ˜‰Ā  However, it received rave reviews so I’ve posted the recipe for everyone to enjoy.

Recipe

1 box Spice Cake Mix

3 cans More Fruit Apple Pie Filling

1 1/2 cups old fashioned rolled oats

1 1/2 sticks cold butter

1/2-1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp ground cloves

Preheat the oven to 350F. Grease a 9×13 baking dish.

Open the cans of pie filling and dump them into the baking dish, spreading them out evenly. Sprinkle the cinnamon and cloves over the apples. This gives a nice little bit of extra spice to the apples.

Pour the cake mix into a gallon ziplock bag, add the rolled oats. Cut the butter into small pieces and add to the bag. Press most of the air out of the bag and shake it several times to mix the oats, cake mix and butter. Now comes the fun part! Squeeze the bag between your fingers to break the butter into smaller pieces. You could use a pastry cutter to do this (like making biscuits or pie crust) but I found that this is easier and less messy. You can just throw the bag away when you’re done.

Once you have the butter broken up into the cake mix/oats, pour it over the top of the apples and spread it evenly.

Bake for about 45 minutes, until the pie filling is bubbly and the top of the cake is golden brown.

When the cake is done, you’ve got something that sort of resembles an apple cobbler or an apple crisp. It’s not quite as cakey as cobbler or as crumbly as crisp. The rolled oats help to cut the sweetness of the cake mix down to something that I find much tastier.

A more traditional dump cake would only use one stick of butter but I’ve added another half stick to help account for the rolled oats. Plus, I love butter lol.

Please let me know if you try this and what you think. šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

