Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

2013 Garden: Completed!

on May 19, 2013

Well, it’s taken me a couple of weeks but I finally have the last of the plants in the garden. Everything is staked and trellised and ready to grow!

My final tally is:

Indeterminate Tomatoes- Big Rainbow, Orange Strawberry, Indigo Rose, Japanese Black Trifele and Sungold – These will produce fruit all summer long.

Determinate Tomatoes – San Marzano (2 plants), Principe Borghese, and a Roma. These plants will grow, blossom and produce fruit pretty much all at one time. These are the ones that I’ll be canning and sharing with my friend Cat in exchange for peppers. 🙂

Cucumbers – 1 pickling variety, 1 gherkin variety

Chard – 2 sets of Rainbow Chard

Kale – 1 green and 1 red russian

Green Beans – I got a six pack of Romano Green Beans which grow a bean 5-6″ in length. This is my first try at growing green beans so I hope they do well.

While I was at Dale Hardware today I made a new friend named Brian. He showed me this cool method of creating a trellis called a “basketweave” trellis. You take bambo sticks and literally weave them together to create a trellis. Then I sent Brian on a hunt for tomato cages which, much to my embarrassment, I had walked past three times. Turns out they were hiding behind some other cages. I’m very particular, I only use the Ultomato cages. Fortunately, Brian took it in good grace and wasn’t grumpy with me. We had a great time discussing gardening, guns and all sorts of other random stuff.

Now that I’ve told you about my garden, here’s some pictures!

basketweavetrellisThis is the basket weave trellis. It’s really easy to make and I think it was about $7 for 20 stakes. The poor little plant at the bottom is my gherkin cucumber. The snails have eaten the crap out of it. I put down a heavy dose of snail bait today so with luck, they’ll pull through. The chunks of brick are holding down the newspaper I’m using for mulch. So far it’s working really well at keeping the weeds down.

 

This next picture is the short side of the garden. It’s hard to see since it’s in shade but I have 3 bean plants in front of the trellis, 2 kale plants to the right of that and off the side where you can see them, 2 chard plants. At the very corner, where two trellises meet is my pickling cucumber plant. It’s doing better than my gherkin too. This arrangement will allow the cucumber to climb up both trellises around the corner.

gardenshortside

gardenlongsidThis is most of the long side of the garden.  There’s actually two more tomato plants to the left that you can’t see. The cages look a little funky right now because I haven’t put them together completely. The plants are large enough yet to need all the cross pieces. I’ll add them as I need them AND I was pretty exhausted at this point lol.

Finally, the last thing we did was put out some lady bugs. Aphids can be a real problem and since there are also a couple of rose plants in the yard, they help in lots of ways. Here’s a few of them clustered at the top of a stake. It’s fun to let them loose because they crawl all over your hands and arms and it tickles. 😀

ladybugs

So that’s it, my final garden after planting. I am SO excited to see how things grow and produce. Getting my garden in makes me feel like I’m a productive person instead of a useless lump.

I should mention I also have an herb garden growing on my patio. I have a big batch of genovese basil, african blue basil, cat nip, lemon thyme and dill. I’ve been using lots of lemon thyme and dill lately. It’s a lovely combo. 🙂

Leave a Reply

