Dreamy's Delights

It's all about the food!

Balsamic Vinaigrette

on May 19, 2013

Salad dressing is one of those things that it’s just soooo easy to buy at the store. We can have half a dozen flavors in the fridge and not even think about it. Unfortunately, many (if not most) of them have added sugar and too much salt, not to mention all the preservatives. One easy way to make your salads healthier is to make your own dressing. People tend to think this is hard to do but it’s really not. I prefer the tangy sharpness of a vinaigrette over a creamy dressing so that’s what I make most.

Tonight Jene was making a salad and realized we were out of our favorite store bought dressing, Marie Callendar’s Creamy Greek Vinaigrette. He asked me if I thought it would be ok to mix some balsamic vinegar and oil to season his salad. I told him sure but if he would give me a couple of minutes I’d make him something with a bit more flavor. So, here’s what I put together.

Recipe

1/2 cup oil

1/3 cup balsamic vinegar

1 TB freeze dried shallots (or finely minced fresh)

1 TB dijon mustard

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp dried dill

1/2 tsp dried thyme

1/4 tsp black pepper

You can use a salad cruet or a pint jar, which ever you have on hand. Add the vinegar and seasonings and give it a shake to combine them. Let it sit for a few minutes for the salt to dissolve and the flavors to absorb into the vinegar. Then add the mustard and oil. Shake vigorously for a couple of minutes until everything is blended up. Serve immediately.

Now, as far as the mustard goes, you can use any flavor you like, I just prefer dijon. The purpose of the mustard is to act as an emulsifier and keep the oil and vinegar blended together longer.

Store the dressing in the fridge and just give it a good shake before you use it next time.

Oh! Before I forget, the standard ratio of vinegar to oil is 1 part vinegar to 2 parts oil. I like my dressing to be a bit sharper so I use a bit more vinegar. If you want this a bit mellower, go with 1/4 cup of vinegar.

Leave a Reply

